Tarot Friday#5 – the benefits of order, "The Emperor"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Welcome again for a visit to the temple of the secrets and my Tarot cards presented in a way, commonly known as the "journey of the fool", which looks at the 22 Major Arcana as the chapters of a human life. The new soul, guided by the divine parents, wants to materialize in our physical world. Last week, we met the earthly mother, today's post will be about the father, as seen in the Tarot card "IV - The Emperor"

herrscher-1.jpg

The colors give a first impression of "fire", which is associated with light and will power, together with order, the main theme of the card. The Emperor represents the creation of this order, safety and stability.

herrscher-2.jpg


If you are interested in the aspects of divination, please make sure to
visit @mystikmoongypsy and @tarotbyfergus

Tarot Panorama-Klein.jpg

Temple of the secrets, total size of artwork is 15ft by 45ft, unfinished



pfeil-1.jpg

If you'd like to take a look at previous cards, you can use the following links:

"0- The Fool"

"I - The Magician"

"II - The High Priestess"

"III - The Empress"



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork. The original cards are roughly
20"x40" and painted on glass in "Hinterglas" technique as described here

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg

Sort:  

These are simply beautiful. I look forward to seeing these every Friday. Thank you for this gift!

Thank you for stopping by to have a look :-)

Amazing! I love this Don Quixote style of the Emperor it gives a little sence of humor to the grim and serius symbolism of the Emperor card. I also like that you included the Ankh symbol life and the Eye of Horus:) I also started at some point to make the 22 Major Arcana cards, i find their symbolism fascinating but i haven't finished them yet. I hope you don't mind and because i value your opinion i 'll upload my own version:)

The-Emperor-analogue-collage-100,70cm.jpg

Boahhh! That is amazing!! Looked it in full view and I love your interpretation with all the details.

Collage has always fascinated me and I have done a few, when I was young. How do you deal with the copyrights today? Are you only using your own photos?

Thank you very much, i 've tried to recplace the older symbolism and icongraphy with contemporary ideas, events and stuff from pop culture. I would love to see your collages at some point:) Copyright issues are very tricky. There are no law in E.U. about the image artists only an american law which is the same for music and lyrics. From time to time i used my photos and photos of photographers who are friends of mine and gave me permission to use them. Mostly i find photos from the internet and this why i created an "ethical code" not to use photos which i consider that they have an artistic value, so i use the most common i could find. I also use a lot of older photos, textures and wallpaper motifs etc.

Oh, the collages I made so long ago, I don't even know where they are. But your work is so inspiring, that I'm thinking of trying it again eventually :-)

Was just reading through the threads of the hardfork universe on slak. You are quite active there, I see. Amazing ideas! I like your tarot card idea. Do you think something like my "temple of the secrets" might have any potential there?

Thank you very much, i am so happy that i inspired to make some new collages. I believe that all of your artwork has potential for the series, my ideas came through brainstorming in the channel, so through talking and giving ideas you ll find what to do:) and it will be amazing:)

I think your cards have the best color I've seen in any tarot deck.
Beautiful cards. I want to be surrounded by giant versions of them! Someday...

Thank you very much again, for liking my cards like that. Means a lot, coming from an expert like you! Getting the originals to the US would probably be rather costly, but I have original size printable files... ;-)

Man, you rock! You are such a prolific artist. Seems like each time I'm on Steemit I see another new masterpiece of yours. This collection of cards is great fun to look at, and I look forward to seeing the others.

Thank you, you are very kind! As long as there is an interest, I'll post another one each Friday :-)

The art is amazing, it's always a pleasure to see your pieces.

Thank you! Happy you like it :-)

The Magician... very interesting one. I am true pessimist when it comes to this stuff. I was like 14 years old, a friend of mine was reading my future the only thing that was correct was the card that described me, it was this one. I guess every artist is. Great art as always!
Cheers!

Thank you! :-) Don't worry... I won't predict your future ;-)

:D i'm not worried about that. There is binary equation that can do that. But you have to know everything about me like: risk taking, my value system and many more stuff like that... it all comes to yes or no at the end

I am such a fan of this series. I love your style, and how much thought and planning you've put into these, from the color scheme, to the little details, you've captured so much symbolism.

Thank you for stepping by again, always happy to see you :-) Still trying to catch up on your trip! Any new art in the making?

So far I followed more or less closely the traditional contents of the cards. As we go further, they become more and more intuitive.

Thanks! I still have at least 4 more posts to make about our trip. lol I did get a chance to do a bit of sketching while we were away, and I will definitely have to make a post about those soon! :)

Great artwork! But to me he certainly does not look stable on these tiny thin legs lol

I have to admit, that I was being a bit cynical with this card, and it shows more of a "desperate attempt" to keep things in order.. the position of the legs is to represent the number 4, but you'd have to look at him from a different direction to see that.. a hint of the world actually being in disorder.

That's what I exactly thought. You can see a clear attempt to make an ironic take on the subject here, because total control is only an illusion and people are often tricked into that and start making mistakes that result in losing that control. That is why I think that this card is even more special and accurate rather than it was being drawn the way that it would be clear that the stability is guaranteed. I really like your way of doing this one exactly, great work mate :-)

Hi Reinhard, I wrote you a e-mail regarding the Temple of Secrets - we talked about it on another tread in that series. It is about the 5 star Post Hotel. I got a msg on Facebook from the owner, Karl Reiter. I think you should talk to him.

Thanks a lot, Otto! I'll get to it right away.

Manchmal muß man die Leute auch mal zu ihrem Glück zwingen ;-)

Almost a Don Quixote type, but with the knowledge and wisdom this card holds. I am a Lenormand reader and Clairsentient and although the classic tarot doesn't speak to me as clearly, I always find it beautiful, your artwork more so! Thank you for sharing!

As I said to @besouted already, I was a bit cynical with this one... could be, because at the time I still had a few issues with my own father. Thanks for looking :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59462.07
ETH 3306.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43