🎨 "Libra in progress" - the next steps

in #art6 years ago (edited)

As I have shown you in two previous posts How to paint, when you are not a painter and Shaping that Butt I am working on a painting to illustrate the Zodiac sign "Libra". It is actually a second version of that painting with a few changes and what I consider improvements compared to the first one.

Last time we arrived at the first step of the underpainting, where all form is created by the use of only white on a tinted background.

IMG_0385-1.jpg

I like to work on an orange-ish English red. Including all of the steps I will show you today, I do all that with acrylics on a gesso primed canvas.

Once all the elements of the painting exist in their basic shape, almost a bit like an old fashioned sepia colored photo I continue with working on the skin tones by refining the shadows in green. I usually take my own pale white arm for reference and the areas in the shadow have a subtle greenish touch.

In the first step that is rather bold and high contrast:

IMG_0902-1.jpg

Now the painting is ready for a thin glaze of ocher. I mix the acrylic paint with a substantial amount of water to make it really thin and transparent. In order to still make it stick well enough, I add some acrylic medium. Since I want to have enough time, to distribute it evenly, I also add some retarder. The mix is applied with a wide soft brush.

IMG_0905-1.jpg

I worked on the figure a little more, as I still found the contrast a bit too high for this stage.

IMG_0910-1.jpg

A thin layer of white does the trick for now. Another thin glaze of ocher over the skin parts and its all ready for the final step, before the oil glazes.

In the following step, all form is refined even more. With the ocher layer, the painting is homogenized again, but it also looses some contrast. Therefore the bright lights are enhanced one more time, in a similar way the original shapes were created.

IMG_0965.jpg

In a small jar I have some white acrylic paint already thinned with water. On my palette I "play" with the paint until if feels right. Water is added if necessary.

palette-weiss.gif


Now I can apply it in the drawing like manner I already described in this earlier post.

malen-weiss.gif


Eventually all the elements are highlighted again and look nice and crisp.

IMG_0966-900x1143.jpg

Although the process seems tedious, I actually enjoy this part of my paintings very much. Once the oil glazes are applied, this so called underpainting shines through and the light is reflected at these deeper layers. This gives the painting a certain inner light, hard to achieve with any other technique. Plus, coming from glass painting, I like to work with "transparencies"...

IMG_0968-1.jpg

Next I will add the numbers and details to the face of the scale and then I will finally be ready for the oil glazes...



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola and BeScouted

Sort:  

It's wonderful to see your brush in action. Did you just use your phone to make these little videos? I keep thinking I'll do little videos of my working on a piece, but it's hard to hold the phone and draw and paint. Maybe I'll set it on a ledge in my studio when I'm working on a canvas or some such.

That orange/red underpainting really does add brillance. It's funny, too, as when I paint digitally I do the same, where I will add a layer and use white over the previous layer lowering the opacity, much like adding water.

So, your oil glazes are last, obviously, but does that mean they are behind the image on the glass? The paint on the glass is in reverse, so the last bit, that furthest from the viewer behind the glass, is the glaze? And this does affect it? Sorry so many questions, but really fascinates me.

And of course, amazing painting as usual.

Sorry for my late reply, its been a bit crazy the last couple of days.

Yes, I made the videos with my phone. Its really just about giving a quick idea of what I mean and it would be difficult, to describe these things with words only.

I'm afraid, there is a little bit of confusion, sorry for that. This painting isn't on glass... the process would make no sense at all. This here is on canvas :-)

Wow, that's truly gorgeous and with such detail! I love her legs, and the overal artwork feels really 'balanced' ;-)

Hehe.. balance is basically the theme. Glad it comes across like that.

You have always posted amazing art, but I think your posts themselves are now becoming works of art! Love the touches you are adding, like the little process GIFs illustrating how you "play" with the paint. This is coming along great! - @carlgnash for @c-squared


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @carlgnash for your kind compliments and for choosing my post for c-squared. Very much appreciated :-)

You are really an inspiration here in this community sir! Thanks for sharing this wonderful and elegant painting. Eventhough i cannot be able to make someones art like this but i was so amazed with your artworks sir!

Cordial thanks for your kind words. Every person has their own talent and I am sure you are a master in your field :-)

Hope those scales are warmer than they look to sit on XD Was interesting watching that build up.

goatsig

There is a pillow hidden ;-)

Lovely as always! I love the gleam off her heel!

Thank you. Of course, that is my favorite part to work on ;-)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This work is spectacular! the orange tones and the composition with the dishes is simply incredible! Your technique is good! keep it up! I congratulate you.

Thanks a lot. There is still a long way to go. So far it was about the shapes, the colors are still to come.

This is spectacular @reinhard-schmid. You're awesomely blessed!

Blessings to you as well and thank you for your kind comment :-)

i always wonder how you paint so neat , and this one with acrylics ! great lighting <3

Wonder why you would wonder, as you do it so well yourself! Thank you for your kind words :-)

hahaha thank you ,maybe because i love your lines , They are very clean and tidy always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76