🎨 "Hommage an E.T.A." (Tribute to E.T.A.) - surrealistic approach to the sensuous machine

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Every time I read one of E.T.A. Hoffmann's stories, I am amazed by his imagination and the surreal/fantastic touch of the things he wrote some 200 years ago. I particularly like his "Automaten", mechanical beings with a human appearance so real, that there always seems to be an element of magic involved...

eta-0.jpg

As many of you probably know by now, my work is generally built upon a yin yang like balance between more technical male and more sensuous female aspects. Therefore E.T.A. Hoffmann's Automaten theme perfectly blends with my subject. In this painting I also tried a new approach by combining very detailed elements with contemporary "flat" areas, like the dress and the background.

The frame too combines the organic oak wood with the technical aluminum, which I also used as a sort of passepartout (mat) to make the actual painting really pop out.

I've been working on this piece since August. As always, I start with a pencil drawing on glass

DSC_7367.png

Since I actually work on the reverse side of the glass, I keep turning it around as work progresses, to check it from what will be the front side in the end. That also is a good way, to double check the composition.

DSC_7436-1.png

After the drawing is completed, I finish the painting with very thin transparent oil glazes. In a final step, the aluminum leaf is applied.

ETA-0_700x2335.jpg




I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-3.png

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

Sort:  

very nice artwork! beautifull!

Thanks a lot! Nice work on your blog too! 🎅

She’s lovely. 💕 I like her curves running in and out of the straight edged lines of the frame. The yin and the yang as you say. 😊

I like to create that contradiction and balance on all levels, be it by theme or curved versus straight lines like you of course noticed 😊

Great minds think alike, hah hah :D I also like that negative all absorbing dark area that drives the attention to other areas of the image:)

Absolutely right! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37