🎨 "Flying High" - Giving High Heels a new Meaning

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"Exclamation Mark" was the theme for a group show in Paris I participated in a few years ago. We were given the size of 24"x72" for the main piece and it was to sit above a round piece with a diameter of 24".

This way, the two elements formed a "!"

At first it seemed hard to fill it all with something meaningful and interesting. Eventually I came up with the idea of a figure upside down, moving on a mono wheel like vehicle. To help her stay up comfortably, I created a special pair of shoes...

exclam-1.jpg



The propeller heels even made it to an online high heel museum. Unfortunately I lost the URL :-(

Now, this was again a pretty large painting and to get all the connections and levers right, I kept checking both pieces together on the easel. Here you can see how the lower part only has the underpainting in acrylics finished. The colors are added in thin oil glazes just like in the part above.


exclam-2.png

The whole painting "rotates" around a piece of fabric that had given me the original idea, when I saw it laying around. I used it as the "dress" for my leggy pilot.

exclam-3.png

Finally it all came together as one of my first "Venusmachines". I deliberately tilted the upper part by adding a frame in an angle, to support the idea of the whole thing being somewhat instable. Makes it quite a challenge to hang it straight!

exclam-4-500x1797.png




I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-3.png

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork

sig-2017-1.png

Sort:  

You know Reinhard, perhaps you should have been a Parisian fashion designer. Some of your ideas are just so out there that I think you'd make waves in that world.

haha.. maybe. Back in the days, when I should have made the decision, fashion was a way too scary subject for the country yokel I still am. I think in that world it needs more than some wild ideas...

I agree with @leoplaw totally. I bet you be more famous than Manolo Blahnik :)

Fantastic art work. I really love the idea of instability. Would send my girlfriend insane. She has ocd and everything is insanely organised and straight. Haha I can just picture sombody continuously adjusting the frame for years with ocd. For me this work still gives a feeling of being underwater. Thanks for sharing.

lol... sorry, its not funny, but I just had that picture in my head of the ever adjusting person. Definitely a case for amnesty international ;-)

Yes, it could easily be an underwater scene as well, particularly with the colors surrounding the figure!

Geniales Teil mal wieder - Idee - Umsetzung - Knaller
Das ist richtig freakig - gfoid ma sehr guad :-)

War ein hartes Stück Arbeit! Danke wie immer für Dein tolles Lob!!

I love it! so unlimited in your approach!

Thanks, always trying hard :-)

Very nice - spotted those legs and heels and just had to fly in for a closer look - now I'm off to see the rest of your work - looks exciting!

Oh my word I love this! Sorry I missed it’s post for a couple of days somehow. The propeller shoes are brilliantly creative and the fabric skirt/dress REALLY holds my gaze. Is that really just drawn onto the canvas?! It looks like real 3D satin fabric applied to the canvas.

I bet it is hard to hang straight with the image not being square in the frame. 😂 messes with your mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80