🎨 Deamons and Monsters - "The Temptation of St. Anthony"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

The first time I saw a surrealistic painting was at the age of 8, when I stayed at my uncle's house and looked through one of his art books. Although my father is an artist as well, it was quite fascinating, to see such completely different art, than what I was used to. When I opened the page with the famous Max Ernst painting "The Temptation of St. Anthony" I was completely overwhelmed and from then on it was clear to me, that I wanted to become an artist, and something like this would be the kind of work I wanted to create...


ant-0.jpg


Many years later, I found out, that many artists were like Max Ernst inspired to create their own version of the theme. I actually did two. The first was actually one of my earliest glass paintings. I also made the frame of glass in a techique similar to stained glass window work.


DSC_0671-Kopie-400x506.png

My glass painting technique was still in a very early stage and the painting still has a rather unprofessional and unfinished look.

Many years later, one of my collectors insisted I make another version of the St. Anthony theme for him. Again, it was to be a glass painting with a glass frame. Here is the finished glass piece in its irregular shape


ant-1-900x1442.png

When I made the frame, I wanted it to reflect the religious aspect in the theme and gave it a shape of a triptych or something reminiscent of an object, one would normally find in a church


ant-2-600x834.png



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

wow really Great Art 😊 i like and keep it up 😊

Many thanks, dear :-)

Well done indeed. Looks very interesting

Thanks a lot! :-)

Heftig - aber sehr gut rübergebracht - erinnert ein bischen an Hieronymus Bosch - fantastische Arbeit :-)

Ja, mit solchen dämonischen Sachen fühlt man sich gern an ihn erinnert. Kaum zu glauben, dass ich das vor fast 20 Jahren gemalt hab...

I love the lead and stained glass work. I saw a documentary once about how they mined, smelted, and used lead in the middle ages and I've been fascinated ever since.

And since I just finished reading Day of the Triffids I couldn't help making a plant-based interpretation of your painting.

I used a lot of lead and stained glass work in my earlier days. Thing is, I always burnt my self and with the fumes and all, I lost my interest in it. Still like to look at it though!

Heard of the book, but never read it myself. But I can see how it reminds you, as in my painting there are a lot of plant like elements... also attacking the poor guy in the middle!

It sounds like working with lead probably wasn't the safest occupation - especially in the middle ages!

That's right. Plus I don't think the people back then were aware of the danger of lead poisoning. In fact, when I lived in northern Germany in the early 80s, a lot of the plumbing was still with lead pipes.. wondering, as I'm typing this, if this English word has anything to do with the Latin word plumbum..

I'm pretty sure it does! In fact the chemical symbol for lead, Pb, stands for Plumbium too.

That's exactly what I meant... Plumbium = lead -> lead pipes -> plumbing 😁

Max Ernst is one of my favourites. Like me he worked in many different ways without bothering about keeping up a recognisable style. It somehow appeals to me.

I always wondered why the temptation of St. Anthony always is so horrendous, not really very tempting is it. But it has always been like that I know and it has made for many fascinating pictures.

I too like how Max Ernst's work always changes. Same with me. There was a time when I looked at my "mess" compared to a structured body of work of many of my colleagues. My problem is, as soon as I "arrive" somewhere, I don't look at it as a method to be applied from then on. I get bored and start something else... with all the problems of a fresh start ;-)

Haha, yes just the same here. I want to master everything and I want to do new things in new ways all the time. It was a hell of a problem with the gallery owner back when I was doing exhibitions. They really like to have a brand - not a crazy scientist.

Haha... funny how we keep discovering things we have in common. I had a gallery owner like that too. He pretty much wanted me to have a selection of "products" so he could simply order "variations"

Somehow I do understand their position - they are salesmen, and they just want an easy product to sell - that's where we are different from them. I never went the easy way... probably should have :)

Even unprofessional and unfinished as you say looks amazing. I might even prefer it to more sophisticated finish :) But for that i'd need to see a bigget image. But as usual both of them being different they both look great. Techniques gey developed in time but that small part that is called talend which is unique has been there since the beginning. And that is obvious with this post.

Hehe.. there is a reason I show the old one small. As a whole it looks decent, because of the frame. The glass is gold plated from the back with 24 carat gold! Lol sounds impressive, doesn't it. The actual value of the gold wasn't more than 10,- bucks :-b

Oh, this is a totally different side to your art! i really love this! your hellish monsters are very original!

Hehe... we all have our dark side ;-)

If I could be in front of you now I would stand up and make looong applause!

Oh thank you! And it would be the same the other way round for sure :-)

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37