The Face Of Addiction

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Homelessness

10.5 x 9 inches, drawing paper and pencil, 2014

I started seriously studying human anatomy back in 2014. For the longest time I avoided drawing people because I did not like or trust people. After I started vipassana meditation I had an insight my distrust and dislike of people was because I bought into my abusers conditioning me when I was a child. No one will love me because I'm a bad and ugly child. My distrust and loathing of humanity was directly related to how I loathed and did not trust myself. Now I like myself and I like people but I'm an introvert. I like being alone with my thoughts. It was difficult untangling myself from my aversion towards people and my love of being alone. I think I've found a healthy balance. I serve at retreats and help out at the American Legion and Rugby charity events.

This work is taken from a photograph taken by Lee Jeffries.

Interview with Photographer Lee Jeffries

I've been homeless with 2 children, the father of my 1st 2 children used pot to control his temper. He worked in the construction industry back in the late 70s and early 80s, which is notorious for crashing and leaving many workers without a job. My 1st mate had to smoke more and more pot to control his temper, as he was used and abused on the job. Construction workers even if they knew how to work heavy equipment were a dime a dozen.

I couldn't work because of my low skill-set at the time wouldn't of paid for childcare so we were stuck. My mates bad temper was becoming unmanageable and so was his dependence on pot. The only one who can manage your emotions is you, drugs can only mask them for so long and the energy builds up, bursting out in inappropriate ways. This is what I learned from my first mate. However, I had an even worse addiction because of my neglect and abuse I suffered as a child. I suffered from trauma bonding, which causes one to care for abusive people. I had to break this addiction and vipassana mediation worked for me. Drugs were of no help, I tried many given to me by allopathic doctors, in fact the psychiatric drugs and therapy were a fetter keeping me chained to my conditioning. I had tried antidepressants for my panic attacks they only masked my symptoms and my panic attacks worsened. The face Of addiction reminded me of how I felt during my homeless days with an addict and our two young children.

Thankfully with the help of my Buddhist teachers I won my freedom and my kids were able to see the process of healing trauma and facing ones addictions. I found help and a home and we were safe or so I thought. I still had a long way to go letting go of my addiction regarding caring for abusive addicts.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

It would seem that we share some things. Art and Buddhism and I had an addicted mother. I have learned from Buddhism to be very present in each moment but also use what I have learned from my mother's' addiction in everything including my art. You are an intriguing person.

I am so happy we can walk the Path together for a time, good friends are an essential part of the wayfarer🙏

The addicts, enablers and psychopaths in my life have been my teachers...teaching me what not to do and wise compassion.

I suppose all paths lead up the mountain as the saying goes. I am glad that I did not have to suffer what my mother did. I wish you peace.

You capture the emotions very accurately.

I know them having seen this pain up close and personal. Thank you @nitan🙏

I am very sorry to read of your abuse. I think that is a very nice rendering.

I have empathy for people who have suffered, I have a bigger window when I look at the world now. I'm okay now, but my life was pretty tough for a long time. In a way, we all have our wars to fight, I learned to stop fighting and not carry the past with me. In saying that, I'm greatful for my past. Many people don't learn how to leave their past in the past. Thank you @old-guy-photos.

Wow
I know beating addiction can be hard. And admitting you have one is the first step in the road to beating it.
Thank you for posting the drawing and the photo capture the emotions in an impacting way

Being addicted to abusive authority is an elusive addiction to break, for me each time I think I'm free, I find even more comes up....from dysfunctional family and friends, science and medicine, education systems, religions, work, nation states, and don't forget corporations and banks!

True
But when it comes to family it hits closer to home, at least for me realizing that took a lot

Yes it does for most of us, unless you are a group the government or business sector wants to marginalize. The Native Americans are an example, the government screwed them over in the past and is still screwing them over and the Indians can't do anything about it. Cept play nice.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

At first I thought it was an engraving. She looks so disturbed... You captured the emotions so accurately!

You should read Lee Jeffries interview. He talks about how he finds balance taking pictures of the misery he sees....he is an amazing artist! The picture was difficult to draw because of my limited skill set and the memories that came up...drawing this picture was a cathartic experience.

The young lady died of her addictions, she was raped and abused as a young girl and used drugs to self medicate.

Horrible story.... And that's why I don't make any art of such kind - I just want my mind to stay safe. But thank you for the clue about interview, I'll check out!

Within the horror is beauty and salvation. But it takes much practice to stay balanced. First I had to learn this facing my own demons before I could face other people's demons. With meditation I learned my reaction to things I like and don't like happen in my own mind first...my anger, aversion, fear hurt me not anyone else. I must be responsible for my reactions, no one else can do this for me or I will always be avoiding life. My Buddhist teacher taught me several kinds of loving kindness and compassion meditations which heal and guard the mind from negativity.

I wasn't that lucky to find such kind of teacher yet. Only a really strange psychologist who only made me feel worse. So I ended up at psychiatrist's office. And now I want to wait a while untill my mood will be stable again before performing such experiments:)

Before you start metta meditation sit in a quite spot, feel comfortable and keep your back straight but relaxed. Follow your natural breath for 5 minutes with eyes closed. Relax!

Beautiful metta instructions
http://www.mettainstitute.org/mettameditation.html
This is my teacher SN Goenka www.dhamma.org, I was able to work with him at a vipassana retreat in the late 90s. Amazing human being!


Pema Chodron on compassion tonglen meditation

Thank you so much! Ill give it a try!:)

Even if they don't help now reading and trying out the meditation just one time will plant a healing seed.

Loving kindness called metta and compassion will help you level out a little bit, takes some practice, the effect isn't immediate. I know several simple meditations if your interested I can give you links.

I'd love to check them out:) I used some, but they were too far away from what I actually needed

Brilliant and captivating post! greets :)

Thank you kindly @jonjon1 (hugs)❤️

Ok. I am sitting here and wanna write a comment, but I can't find the right words for it. I am speechless. Emotional moved...😮

😊

Deep. So deeeeep my friend. I resonate immensely with your experiences. Thank you for embracing your personal power and blossoming into the Beauty-Full Soul that you have always been....and always will be <3 Hugs and Love!

Sati in the language called Pali, one of its translations means, to remember. I always felt it was not mindful of now, but to remember my unconditioned state. Thank you dear friend @thereikiforest.

<3 Namaste <3

Very unsettling but beautiful work!

Yes very unsettling, it makes the heart tender and receptive. Thank you @jangaladesigns

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49