Stinging Nettle Tea - Painting - Finished - Tea Recipe -steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I've written out a recipe for nettle tea and some data on how to go foraging for stinging nettles with links. If you don't feel like going for a hike you can buy stinging nettle tea at just about any store that carries herb teas. I like the tea because it helps with inflammation from fibromyalgia and I am interested in learning how to live off the land. I like to think I have an alternative to the grocery store because I really hate shopping. It's so much fun taking a walk in the woods and gathering my food rather than driving to a store and seeing the same old veggies. Here is a small article about 29 Nettle Tea Benefits

This painting didn't turn out as good as I imagined it. I've never drawn or painted such a complicated teacup or pot and I have done very little still-life artwork. If I were to paint this again, I would fix the teacup saucer. It's all out of kilter and the shadows suck. But I finished it and that is what matters most right now, practice, practice, practice!

Watercolor and Gouache on mixed media paper.

If you are going to make stinging nettle tea from scratch it's best to start looking for a patch in early spring, it is easier to find because it's one of the first plants to sprout. Remember to bring gloves and garden shears if you are going foraging for this plant later in the year, the older plants will sting you. The stems toughen up and the plant packs a powerful sting. If you live in America, Stinging Nettle grows just about anywhere near water or marshes. If your backyard is wet, it may be growing in your backyard and you don't even know it! Make sure the area is clean and isn't getting sprayed with herbicide or pesticide. You have to be careful with all the dumping and pesticide spraying going on.

How to identify Stinging Nettle, Common Nettle, Urtica Dioica is very easy plant to spot with distinctive saw-tooth edged leaves and hairy stems that will sting you if you grab them incorrectly. The plant grows from 3ft up to 7ft tall and has an abundance of bright green leaves. The tiny hairs that cover the stems act as a hypodermic needle injecting a mixture of chemicals that can cause a painful reaction that feels like burning if grasped incorrectly.

I only had to be burned once as a kid and learned to spot the plant when hiking near wet areas, I haven't grabbed the plant with bare hands since then. I was climbing up out of Eagle Creek near Estacada Oregon and grabbed onto some plants to pull myself up. I think I was around 8 years old, it was late in the year and the salmon still ran in our creek. We hiked down to see if you could find any of the giant fish that usually were so beat up they looked like zombie fish, bits and parts of scales, blackened flesh, fins, and tails would be falling off after they mated. Sadly the salmon no longer run in little Oregon creeks because of the dams and logging.

You can live off the plant, cooking, drying, or crushing will dislodge the spiny hairs easily. I like to eat the young spring plants, they haven't developed their sting yet and are the first plants to come up besides Skunk Cabbage.

Stinging Nettle spreads through it's root like system called rhizomes. That's why you will usually find large patches of nettles. if you find one plant there is going to more! Don't pull the plants out by their roots, so next year they will come up again. You can cut as many plants as you want because these particular plants spread through their root system.

Our Creek that cuts through the back of our property in Eugene Oregon

I wear a long sleeved shirt and gloves, I fill up my garbage bag with a bunch of plants and head home. it's that easy, cut and run! I spray the plants down with my garden hose, washing away all the dirt, tie several stems together and hanging the bundles on my clothes line until dry. I have a large laundry room I use to dry my herbs in.

Once you've dried your stinging nettles you can store them in glass canning jars. I make my tea using 6 dried or fresh leaves, about a tablespoon, let sit in water that is boiling hot for about five minutes. I like to drink my tea straight, just like my whiskey, but you can add what ever flavoring you like or even mix with other teas and herbs. You can eat your left over leaves after you drain the water into your teacup! I like to add a little butter and salt to mine.

Some oregano, lemon balm, and assorted other herbs.

Sort:  

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Thank you!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you!

Good writing, Enjoyed, see you again :D

Thank you @bontonstory, I took a few days off of Steemit. Cooking Thanksgiving and all the cleaning and socializing that goes with holidays, I needed a break. I have so many more ideas now too!

Come back with more stories. See you soon :)

Sounds scary only cause I've had a run in or two with them lol. Thanks for sharing tho !
Steem on !

@jcsteem, you can face your fear and eat it!

Hello my great friend! @reddust, miss your post, very beautiful work, congratulations, beautiful story you have told us, thank you very much for comaprtir this wonderful post

@jlufer, thank you, I'm glad to be back. I need to catch up on my friends post tomorrow!

Welcome my great friend

Excellent writing ... upvote to you ^

@royalmacro, my writing is my weak area, thank you for the confidence boost!

I think your painting is wonderful for stinging nettle. It looks whimsical - and that matches the frog on the teapot. I like your background wall, too.

I have had so many run-ins with stinging nettle. Mountain biking in shorts, too fast, and going right into a giant patch -- Ouch!

Summertime canoeing on a tiny creek with 5-6 fallen trees laying, stacked 10 feet from the water level upwards, at every turn, with the shorelines thick, pure stands of tall, mature stinging nettle. It was easier to haul the canoe up and over the log pile, at every turn, than to go through the stinging nettle. It took all day to go 4 miles, lol.

But I've enjoyed eating stinging nettles and drinking nettle tea. So I remain a fan of the nettles.

The teapot is my favorite, I have issues with depth and dimension, practice helps with the 3D issues. We did a lot of trail riding with horses and extreme hiking, you run the trails. I learned no matter how hot and humid it is wear slacks and a long sleeve shirt...where I grew up nettles are everywhere!

The log jam does not sound like fun but the memory is awesome!

Nettles are so easy to find and a super food. I found a patch here in Oklahoma too!

Stinging nettles are good teachers, in a lot of ways, lol. I'm glad you have found some in Oklahoma, especially now that you have learned the nettles many personalities. : )

All the wild plants I ran into where some kind of medicine plants. In my psychology 101s we had a group of people that studied healing methodologies outside of big pharma. I was invited because of healing my PTSD through vipassana meditation retreats. One lady wrote a paper on the healing qualities of plants as spirit guides. One of the most interesting round table talks I attended. This was back in the late 90s....I think more than the animals were talking to me as a child running wild in the Pacific Northwest woods!

That sounds like a great childhood. And I'm glad that plants have been able to help you.

Very nice.... I am into all wild roots. I go out and dig them all the time. Yellow root and Ginseng are my 2 favorite. Glad to meet you on steemit.
Thanks for the nice post.

Nice to meet you @jamiehinchman, I've hunted American ginseng but not yellow root, I have too look it up! Thank you!

It is also called goldenseal! yellow root is a nick name

I know the plant, but not by names, it's common where I grew up, I had no clue about its usage until now...thank you!

Your welcome, Have a good day, I like your post keep up the good work!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65