You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stinging Nettle Tea - Painting - Finished - Tea Recipe -

in #art8 years ago

I think your painting is wonderful for stinging nettle. It looks whimsical - and that matches the frog on the teapot. I like your background wall, too.

I have had so many run-ins with stinging nettle. Mountain biking in shorts, too fast, and going right into a giant patch -- Ouch!

Summertime canoeing on a tiny creek with 5-6 fallen trees laying, stacked 10 feet from the water level upwards, at every turn, with the shorelines thick, pure stands of tall, mature stinging nettle. It was easier to haul the canoe up and over the log pile, at every turn, than to go through the stinging nettle. It took all day to go 4 miles, lol.

But I've enjoyed eating stinging nettles and drinking nettle tea. So I remain a fan of the nettles.

Sort:  

The teapot is my favorite, I have issues with depth and dimension, practice helps with the 3D issues. We did a lot of trail riding with horses and extreme hiking, you run the trails. I learned no matter how hot and humid it is wear slacks and a long sleeve shirt...where I grew up nettles are everywhere!

The log jam does not sound like fun but the memory is awesome!

Nettles are so easy to find and a super food. I found a patch here in Oklahoma too!

Stinging nettles are good teachers, in a lot of ways, lol. I'm glad you have found some in Oklahoma, especially now that you have learned the nettles many personalities. : )

All the wild plants I ran into where some kind of medicine plants. In my psychology 101s we had a group of people that studied healing methodologies outside of big pharma. I was invited because of healing my PTSD through vipassana meditation retreats. One lady wrote a paper on the healing qualities of plants as spirit guides. One of the most interesting round table talks I attended. This was back in the late 90s....I think more than the animals were talking to me as a child running wild in the Pacific Northwest woods!

That sounds like a great childhood. And I'm glad that plants have been able to help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63