Steemy Snowflake ~ Red Dust Art

in #art7 years ago

Knot Work

Should I add Color Or Use Pen And Ink?

I haven't done a piece just using pen forever! I needed some new pens so I took some of my SBD and bought a bunch of art supplies from Overstock.com. I bought several different kinds of technical pens that I've never used before. The pen I used today is called Rapido Sketch and a lot of artist love this pen for fine line work. Yeah, I did some research before I bought my supplies. I love articles from artist that go into the tools they use and why the love therm.

The lines are a mess but yesterday I was drinking coffee. Now I know, no coffee when making lines! If I use watercolor on this piece the shaky lines won't show. But I could also just add depth by making the lines thicker....What do you think?

11 x 14 inches, Hot Press Cotton Paper 190lbs, and Rapido Sketch Pen, 2017

This is a snowflake from PBS, I used this as the idea for my drawing. I also want to use the colors in this photo for my painting.

I wanted to draw some knot work with a winter theme but besides that I had not clue what I wanted this piece to look like. So I went on the net and looked for really cool snowflakes and found some cool micro photographed snowflakes on PBS. I sat down and started weaving and this is what I came up with from a vague idea.

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

I want to see it to be coloured.

wonderful sketch its look like you like steemit alot so u see steemit also in snowflakes

@moharkan, I've been trying to add the Steemit logo to at least one piece of work a month. I mean this site has given me so much and I'd like to give back through my art.

its well done then madam ☺great art

Ithink Pls fill pen and ink. It might be look real then colour. Like. It

I'm leaning to fill with pen and ink as well, thank you @amitraj!

I use copic multiliners. That come in many colors. They are great for drawing manga like characters, where you use a dark peach for the edges of skin, instead of a heavy black line.

I have mixed feelings about what I would do with this piece.

A. shade it in with india ink
B. shade it in with colored ink.

There was a blue ink that I had that, with various dilutions, could make this very close to water crystal colors.

But I do not think black and white will work for this. Its not the right amount of busy. But, but, I have seen you pull off other things with just a pen, so...

I have some colored micron pens, I was thinking of going this route as well, thank you. I love the colors in the photo!

Profesional work - thanks for amazing art @reddust

Thank you @dobartim, I've been able to practice every day on steemit for over a year now. My skill set has really improved. Now it's time for me to learn now to market my product and that is definitely not as fun as making art!

You are a great professional, in the field of marketing you will do the same very good job

i know about your art, and this is going to another master pices of art!

I hope so, thank you @sheikh27

What a splendid art! I think you're a great artist. It's looking so hard to make. The lines is so close. In the middle, Steemit logo that is showing your love to steemit. I don't know much about art but you are asking in the starting that should you add color? I would like to say that I think you should not add the colors. You should only fill the logo with color. If you add the colors on the whole drawing then I think the shining of this art will not be such. It's looking awesome without color. In your third image the outward area is looking good. The design of that is so clean. Thanks for sharing @reddust 😍

@coolbuddy, that's a good argument, now I may take your advice! Adding colors would take away from the Steemit logo!

Yup...,Well I told that I am not a expert so do that what you assuming best. Good work.. :)

nice post, well it's an incredible piece of art work and i think it doesn't need color, the lines are too close to each other if you fill color in it the lines would be disappear, these narrow lines show your skill and your love with the art, you can fill color in that steemit logo in the middle and those rectangles surrounds it but let go those close lines in b & w shade, well i am not an expert in art so don't take my directions as recommendations, i just try to share what my mind says about this art, Stay blessed and thanks for sharing.

You give good advice, like my car piece, you pointed out my weak areas that bothered me too. I think I will go with colored pens that the @builderofcastles suggested. No watercolor with this piece.

wonderful art i like it

It's a art of love....sign of love
Thank's for sharing

You are most welcome....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63192.94
ETH 2476.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69