1957 Chevrolet Bel Air ~ Art by Red Dust ~ Progress Report

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My First Mechanical Drawing And Painting

First Step

I was procrastinated all morning because I was afraid to lay the first layer of paint down. I've never drawn or painted a car before. Finally I got my paint out, laid my palette out, formatted my battle plan, got my brushes out, and started with the car first, ground second, sky third. Now I'm waiting for the paper to dry and I'll start on the buildings.

I thought of my Father throughout the first layer of paint. He died when I was 5 years old back in 1965, 29 years old, a Captain in the Air Force, he loved flying jets and driving fast cars. I think he was watching with approval.

Color Palette

  • Vermilion
  • Quinacridone Red
  • Burnt Sienna
  • Yellow Ochre
  • Colbalt Blue
  • Cerulean Blue
  • Indanthrene Blue
  • Payne's Gray
  • Cadmium Yellow
  • Brush #6
  • Brush #16
22 x 30 inches, Hotpress Cotton Paper, and Watercolor

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Looks great
Really wish I could draw like that lol

@wix, with practice you can learn to draw really well, everyone has a natural talent for creating art. You need to cultivate this talent like planting and tending a garden. YouTube has amazing drawing lessons to share by some very talented artist. If you do one drawing a day for a year, I promise you, you'll be just as good as me or even better.

How funny! I just posted some of my classic car drawings I've done, and then I saw your painting in progress! It's looking amazing! You're braver than I am. I stick to pens and pencils when drawing cars because I feel like I have more control with them. There's so much detail involved in drawing vehicles. I will be following you to see how it turns out! Good luck! :)

Thank you @jenerallee78, I'll check out your post!

Nice project - maybe this will help

I'm the cool kid of 17 with his arm draped over the steering wheel...my dad bought the car used for $4,000...with about a mile and a half on the odometer. The top was white :-) Upvoted.

What a memory! Thank you for sharing @dragon40, I hope more people share their memories of the cool classic cars of days gone by...

Hey Red very nice painting you have going there remind me of my 1958 red Chevy I used to have long looking ago I'm sorry about your dad sweet story ❤️

My Dad was a cool guy, share your picture on my next post if you can...thank you @cecirod1218

Where are the pics of Concept homes we talked about months ago?

Imgur

The Chevy is Lovely but the way ; )

Dammit, I was hoping you forgot....hehe, if my bitcoins go through the roof, I'll have to draw one out anyway. I'll start next month, July 2017, I promise.

It's interesting to read about your artistic process. And congratulations on your first car. I can imagine that it's intimidating -- a much harder-line kind of image. Although you do such wonderful fine work with your backgrounds and things like the clock (the one with the owl), this car is sure to turn out well! That's a nice connection with your father, too. Enjoy your process!

The grill freaks me out, all the chrome work is the cars signature, crossing my fingers I get the shine right!

Lol, I can't even begin to think how to represent 'shine' with paint! Chrome is something the Dutch masters didn't have to deal with -- it's a modern problem, lol. Good luck with it all!

I'm going to shine the hell out of this chrome, it's going down today😈❤️

haha! Now that's a statement a dad would be proud of! Enjoy Father's Day and thinking of your dad.

Oh no! Its ghost car! :-p

I know, that's what my husband said👻 Thanks for stopping by @builderofcastles

Great job so far! Love the classic look and very interested to see the final version

I'll be updating every day, I'm glad you enjoyed my story and painting @warriorlion.

Looking good the paiting, How lang was it take to paint? 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

I am thinking this is a 7 day project, but I don't really know since this is the first time I've painted a car...thank you @chanthasam.

I know you can do it.
Its just like the balloons. Its all in the reflections.

And shiny points. Don't forget the shiny spots.

Funny I was thinking of the balloons as well, your support and feedback / critique means the world to me🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62