1957 Chevrolet Bel Air

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Drawing For A Watercolor

My childhood memories are filled with the visions of old cars fixed up by the boys in my town. In the 1970s all the men in our little country towns in Oregon were a mechanics by necessity and pride. I grew up in a natural resource rich area, farming and timber were the main industries. Kids grew up learning how to fix farming equipment and if they wanted a car they bought a fixer upper. We weren't a filthy rich community, however we weren't poor either. Young men could find work through working the summers on farms, Federal Forest Service, small businesses, and working in the huge swaths of forest that grew on the Pacific Northwest Cascades. We had constant traffic of old cars and dune-buggies through our school parking lot and Main Street, young men showing off their rides, looking to impress the girls.

Cars of the 1950s and 1960s were just old cars not the expensive classic cars we see today. Back in the day they were cheap to buy and easy to fix up.

I draw my bigger pictures out on a piece of drawing paper and erase a lot. To save my expensive 22 x 30 inch, 300lb Hotpress paper from damage I draw a sketch and copy my drawing using tracing paper. I then transfer my drawing to my watercolor paper using graphite transfer paper.

The car's color is red and the background will be the colors of a desert worn down browns and blues.

Specs

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Epic detail! I really like the way the shine appears to pop...

It would be neat if cars looked like that again.

This is such a cool old car, great job.

I can't wait to start applying the paint, so many great memories! Thank you @halo🚘

so cool.

Nice metal !

This so awesome. Classic american cars are so beautiful, truly works of art. I would love to own an old chevy like that. Great work :)

groovy, I love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63788.71
ETH 3393.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62