Art and Creativity: House Guests and Technology Breaks!

in #art6 years ago

Red Dragonfly has been somewhat "absent" from Steemit for a while, but now we're back!

In part, I was having some issues with the gallery's laptop (from where I usually post to Steemit) and getting our Wifi Internet connection to work; in part, the absence was due to the fact that we had house guests for several days and spent more time "playing hosts" than doing blogging and social media stuff.

Technology Breaks for Your Health

In general, it was nice to have a technology break, even if it meant a little lack of continuity in our posting here and elsewhere. 

Grass
Reeds in the breeze

Sometimes I think we (meaning people, in general) spend too much time absorbed in the online world, rather than dealing with the 3D world all around us.

Aside from the relative "freedom" I experienced during our relatively short absence, I also had some time to think... and I got to thinking about some of the artists we work with.

In this "Age of the Internet" we are taught the importance of social media, and how we "must be on everyone's screen daily" in order to have an impact. 

When you're in a creative field, that can end up having a negative impact, as well. I know at least a couple of artists who ended up getting "trapped" by their Facebook pages and Instagram to such an extent that they almost completely forgot about creating new work... which — after all — was the entire reason those pages existed in the first place.

Creatives FIRST, Marketers SECOND!

Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms

Whereas it is easy — and sometimes a lot of fun — to get sucked into the "Black Hole" that can be online social media marketing, it bears emphasizing that artists and creatives are ARTISTS first and MARKETERS second.

As in the above examples, it doesn't really do you a lot of good to turn yourself into a social media whiz if you're not turning out new work to show off.

Unless, of course, you're secretly planning a new career in art marketing...

Personally, I find that taking regular technology breaks is an important part of keeping a sense of balance. When I step away from the technology and stop checking our Facebook every 20 minutes, the quality of my creative work also tends to improve. 

For example, after our house guests left on Monday morning, I actually took two days "without technology" to just work on art — and I have to say that not only was my focus much improved, but the quality of my work was better than it had been, in quite a while!

So What's the Issue with Technology?

Most creative endeavors require a certain amount of continuous concentration and focus.

Buds
Spring buds

The problem with Social Media and the online environment — from your email, to updating your twitter — is that it tends to chop your concentration into tiny little "bits." Nothing lasts more than a few seconds, and then "you move on to the next one."

Authentic creativity seldom works like that.

Part of the reason my creative output on Monday and Tuesday was so much improved was precisely that I spent several hours without going anywhere near an Internet device of any kind.

And guess what?

The Internet was STILL THERE when I checked in after 9:00pm at night!

Although I am no expert on the psychology of creativity, it seems like something worth keeping in mind, next time you slide down a hole of watching endless YouTube videos on how to mix a particular shade of green with your paints! Or keep obsessively refreshing your twitter to see if someone favorited the latest picture of your art you posted!

Thank you for reading! Red Dragonfly is a proud member of the @sndbox creative initiative.

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @reddragonfly.

All so true........

There is a book titled 'The Shallows' how the internet changes our brain.....something like that...a very good read.

So happy to hear you enjoyed your time away.....yes...we can have a life and Steemit. ^__^

All the best to you and yours.

Cheers.

Thanks @bentleycapital, I will check it out!

I am pretty sure it's true; we're (on a societal level) rewiring our neural nets due to the way we have to process so MUCH information these days.

Oh dear you didn't take photo you make it.

I'm sorry, I'm not sure what that means.

Being an artist, I know this balance can be tricky. Of course I always err on the side of 'creative' which is why I only have about 670 instagram followers. I had a friend say, I'm surprised you don't have more instagram followers (in the way of a compliment to my work) to which I replied, "Well I only post my artwork. For a bit I posted some of the things for sale but only relevant to my artowork. And I don't post everyday. I want it to be a nice digital portfolio I can be proud to look at not a painting I laboured over and then 40 shots of what I had for lunch" :)

I love when I found Steemit and in fact have become so Lax on facebook because of it. I loathe facebook and only used it as a means to share my artwork as I was told it was just 'what a modern artist does'. I've seen a few sales from it, but mostly it's just a bit of toil I give about 15 minutes to every other day.

I think as long as we give first priority to creating each day, then we can slip in a few minutes for our 'online presence' as well, but on an off day, I always choose 'create over post' but then again it depends on if you want to be super rich and famous, which I don't care about.

Balance is just important with all things in life I suppose :)

Sounds to me like you have found a pretty healthy balance.

I know a few artists who are basically "commercial marketing machines" and one of the things I have noticed (at least among the painters) is that they very rarely present new work anymore, but do a roaring trade in selling $30 prints of everything.

Of course, "to each other own." But it never felt right to me.

I mostly see social media as a way to keep your name "out there." And I don't want to see pictures of people's lunch and then "here's a pair of really cool shoes" and then "oh look! My left nostril!" This Steemit account enjoys only modest success because it's focused on ART and CREATIVITY. If you follow Red Dragonfly, you're not going to get recipes one day , baby pictures the next and poetry the day after.

Maybe that works for some, if they don't have any kind of "brand" they are trying to establish. Which, of course, is precisely what artists are trying to do.

Congratulations @reddragonfly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

SERIOUSLY? You're wasting time and bandwidth on downvoting a cute bot that spreads a few smiles in the community, while people on the Trending page are upvoting themselves to the tune of $100s per post? Talk about "Idiocracy..."

Yeah... WTF is going on there...

I hope that's a misunderstanding based on the steem-sincerity API falsely (@andybets himself agrees) labelling the kitten as a top 14 spammer or so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26