My Contribution in the Aftermath of the Danforth Attack

in #art6 years ago

Assimilation tw.jpg

Toronto has been seeing some dark days this year. It's seen a massive surge in violence, especially gun violence. I had no idea our gun regulations were as relaxed as they are. I had the mistaken impression that we were very strict, since for so much of my life gun violence was not on the forefront of my mind.

On Sunday, a young man suffering from some awful mix of psychosis and depression with access to a handgun opened fire near Pape and Danforth, killing an 18 year old girl, a 10 year old girl, and ultimately himself in a haze of police fire. He injured at least 13 others.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

This is my cue to finally try to donate blood, which I will. But first, I've decided to donate this piece to a fundraiser for a mental health care, one of the most under-funded social nets we have. I'm sure we can thank Mike Harris for that, and I doubt there'll be a positive response in this regard from premier Ford. Prove me wrong, Ford.

The event will be held on August 31st, coincidentally the day that my previous partner succumbed to cancer in 2013. It will be held at Wychwood Barns, where also coincidentally, my mom's cousin runs one of Toronto's largest and most successful Farmers' Market on Saturdays.

The rent crisis is, in my opinion, a major culprit, and also somehow needs to be dealt with. Until that can be sorted, something needs to be done for people suffering from mental illnesses. We need more care, and more scientific exploration. Many deadly diseases have inoculations now because of years and years of work. I hope one day soon we can say the same for a variety of neural diseases.

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Proud of you for donating this piece; gave this work a mention on @artzone today.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

We should never give up to try to change something.
Stunning artwork!

Very sad :( I understand most mental illness. I have one form or another. While I haven't had the greatest care, I certainly agree more needs to be done. Especially in the times we live in. The only part I don't understand, I guess I'm not meant to is why harm other innocent people that you've never met or had any connection to? I can understand a bully going back to school and going after teachers and those that treated him poorly. It's when complete innocence is included.

(A very sardonic look is that it's another form of natural population control.) I guess that is how some people can get by without being deeply affected by these events. I don't know if you're interested this is an article done by someone I know that covers some of these areas of mental health. Ultimately from my own personal journey. This is a system that needs a complete overhaul, basic protocols are thrown out the window. No one is ever 'tested' to see where the issue may lay if it is an imbalance or trauma and so forth.

https://steemit.com/science/@agmoore/psychiatry-moving-from-ice-pick-lobotomies-and-chains-into-a-brighter-future

Awful what happened, and so great of you to donate this piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58