At Least We Still Have Art.

in #art6 years ago

An Apple A Day.jpg

I feel very heavy the past couple days. Paint Nite training went very well. If I can make transportation work for me, I can do the job, but the rest of the world has felt very draining.

There's the world news, the shootings, the attempted bombings, the insane white nationalism that's massive in the States, and fogging its way into all of Canada, the natural disasters. I understand projection psychology, and I understand confirmation bias, and so I understand that Trump supporters are more likely to believe that his enemies are their enemies, because that's the information they're being fed, they're also projecting their own hatred and bigotry onto the opposition's supporters. And that's the world right now. We live in a time of fear-mongering and growing violence.

And I also found out that a couple days ago, the lady who held my hand at the end of my previous partner's life, in hospice - The person who sat with me for hours and just listened, who sat with me all night when I couldn't sleep, until he breathed his last breath. I just found out that she was killed by a drunk driver a couple days ago. My head is spinning with this. It's not something I want to talk about at length. I didn't know her well enough to. I just feel so sad for her family. And I feel angry at how selfish someone would have to be to put others at risk with their own drinking.

If you get drunk, and then behind the wheel, you're a selfish piece of shit. If you didn't plan ahead for parking before drinking, get someone sober to help you move it, or deal with the fucking ticket in the morning. You kill someone, you get no sympathy for that kind of mistake.

So that's where my head is right now. Pretty dark, but at least I can put it on a canvas. Wherever this world is going, we still have art for therapy. I 100% recommend taking Paint Nite classes with friends to get our mind off whatever you're dealing with. It's a blast. Everyone left smiling last night, whether they liked their painting or not. ;)

It's important to be aware, but you've also got to stay sane. Distraction is excellent.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Very sorry to hear that your head is burdened with such darkness... The recent world has not been easy to deal with, for sure. The world feels out of balance and sometimes I feel there is a lot of hatred and unkindness...

But, yes, at least we still have art :)

Beautiful painting, Rachel... Love your style very much!

That's how the end-time world, the good looks bad, and the bad is spread and becomes good, and violence is created everywhere.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @rachelsvparry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77