Another New One! "The Green Fairy"

in #art5 years ago

Green Fairy.jpg

This is yet another that didn't make it here first. This time, because there were posting issues yesterday for me. Site-wide, I guess, for updates.

I needed to get it out there, since it's what I do for a living. That, and odd jobs. I seem to have picked up a regular odd job, as it happens. Five days a week, now. It'll be good for me to have a schedule. This might be all I need to get back into the habit of posting every day.

Anyway, about this painting - It was supposed to be the second half of a diptych. I had this idea for an angel/demon pin-up combo. Here's the upper half, posted somewhat recently;

On the Upside.jpg

You see she's holding the receiver of a vintage telephone. Where my Green Fairy here has a sugar cube, there was otherwise going to be a rotary phone body. Sometimes paintings change their minds about what they intend to be. I'll have to remodel the second half of this pin-up idea for a new canvas.

It's not the first time I've done an absinthe-themed piece, either. I painted this one a ways back, and sold it last year in my biggest sale to date.

Moonshine 2; Absinthe Makes the Heart Grow Fonder tw.jpg

Which was in turn, inspired by an earlier piece I sold and sent overseas;

Moonshine Parade.jpg

Which was inspired by the iconic song scene in Dumbo, another tiny piece of media that lodged itself permanently into my brain.

And with that said, I wish I could follow the inspiration bread crumb trail back to wherever that song came from, and so forth, but I haven't the time. I must get to my job. Off I go!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Hey @rachelsvparry
Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
A705B77C-E8CA-4B64-85B0-B6D2A965FBE9.gif
@jlsplatts original
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!
SPLATZ info


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Yeah, it has been a couple of rocky days on Steemit !

I'm glad to see an update from you as soon as things are back online, though :D I love these pieces, you're very creative with your messages and the themes you are working with <3

Also your absinthe green winged monkeys are amazing, Rache :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43