Stylization in a Painting

in #art7 years ago

Stylized Work

A lot of us often paint from reference pictures clicked during our travels. I have also painted a lot of scenes from reference picture which I take during my travel. But just copying from a reference pic to make a painting does not make the cut for me. I do a lot of studies and try to get a composition going from the reference pic. And when I have my composition I go ahead with the painting. Sometimes I even stylize the work a little more than what I normally do. This gives a certain graphic quality to the painting. The painting posted here is an example of stylization and I hope this will be of help to many of you.

Reference Image

Here is what I did to get my composition and stylization work for me in the painting.

  • The center of interest (the wood paneled wall of the hut) was on the right. I shifted it to the left of the painting so that it becomes easier to read it as most of us read from left to right.
  • Unnecessary details like the background trees were removed.
  • I added some horizontals on the right of the painting to balance all the verticals in the center of interest.
  • The verticals on the left were all sloping to the left. Hence I added some neutral verticals (trees) on the right to balance them. I thought of giving them a right slant at first. But gave up the idea as it would have been too dramatic.
  • The goat figures were added to enhance the mood.
  • Tonal values were kept down a just three (light mid and very high mid) for a staccato kind of effect.
  • And finally the drawing was kept very close to simple geometrical shapes to add to the graphic quality.

With all these things I ended up with something that creates the feel or mood of the place. But at the same time it also is a work of art and not a mere reproduction of the reference image.

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

beautiful work ... you shifted the subject of interest to the left power point : a good idea IMHO

Thank you @bobinson. Only when we put our imagination and personality to a subject it becomes a work of art. :)

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74