Anime Art #7: 최세영 Saeyoung Choi 707 Fan Art

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi there! 안녕~

I have returned with another process post of one of my traditional arts. This is another character from the mobile game Mystic Mesesnger, whose name is Saeyoung Choi (최세영). He is known infamously as the group's hacker titled "707." He is the true love interest of the game that everyone strives to romance. 

Time taken: 3 hours  
Previous Work: My Own Anime Mascot

Materials 🖌️


  • Mechanical Pencil
  • Staedtler Eraser
  • LePen Drawing Pen 0.5
  • LePen Drawing Pen 0.1
  • Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen Black 199
  • Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen White 101


The Process  🖼️



Visualize the Character

Compared to my other traditional artwork I have done in the past, I wanted a picture with the character doing a different pose than just plainly "standing" and looking at me. So, I went with a pose where 707 is laying on the bed and being flirtatious; almost like he's inviting you to join him in bed... ufufufu!


Sketch the Background

There are two things that 707 loves: cats and buddha honey chips. Unfortunately, I didn't think of adding a chip bag in the background, but I did give him plenty of cat love~

I fixed up the proportions a bit (for some reason, I have a habit of drawing heads too big and bodies too small). Also, can't go wrong with cat ears!


Inking Stage

I have begun inking the picture on top of my sketch, regardless of how messy it is. I use my LePen Drawing Pen 0.5 for the outline and clothing folds of everything. Sometimes, areas that require a bit of blacking in, I still use this 0.5 instead of my huge black brush pen because it is small enough to require precision. My Pen 0.1 is used for very minuscule details that are usually in the eyes.  


Clean & Erase

You have to be very careful at this stage if you are like me. Because my sketches are so messy and have a lot of lines and palm marks (I place my hands on the paper while I draw, so there are smudge marks everywhere), I have to erase the entire page. As a result, be careful not to scrunch your papers by erasing too hard!

Tip: Placing your hand on the paper as you erase will help. Hold the eraser in your other hand very lightly like holding a hamster. This will also prevent cramps.

You may also notice small "x" marks throughout the picture. This is for the next stage when I fill in big, large areas.


Filling Shadows

Now I go over the picture and fill in shadows and larger ares that require black. I use my Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen Black 199 for this. It is great when you don't need to be precise and just color in black.

I also add in a few diagonal lines to add depth in corners and folds (in clothing). The hair also has highlights added via black lines. My Artist Pen White 101 is used to add a faded effect in 707's eyelashes, too. 


Instagram Filter

I am a big believer in Instagram filters, if you haven't realized yet. This effect specifically is the "Sierra" filter. I love warm colors and tones, and that helped me achieve that look.




 

Feel free to leave comments & questions. Let me know what you think!

 

Anime Art #1 : Mystic Messenger Yoosung (Original)
Anime Art #2 : "V" Fanart, Old Manga Style
Anime Art #3: Two Beautiful Boys to Die For
Anime Art #4: Playtime isn't over for Ahri~
Anime Art #5: 2 Boys 1 Cat (Yuri On Ice)
Anime Art #6: My Own Anime Mascot (Pinqo)


Sort:  

Beautiful as always ☺ i really love the kittens they're adorable.

omg, you say such sweet words, scarlet! Thank you!! T ^ T <3
Hehe, kittens are so cute, yes! xD

Awesome! I love your traditional works like this! SO MANY KITTY'S!
Keep going! ~

Thanks so much! And yes ALL THE KITTIES ^^ <3

Wow!!! Your sketching and inking is so clean and really nice!!!

D'awww, thanks so much @jynn!! I'm so glad you think so. ^^

You're welcome :)

Love the fact that you use Instagram filters! ❤️️ Hahaha. I'm also a firm believer of IG filters LOL. ANYHOWWWW I LOVE HIS EYES OMG. This is a really beautiful piece! And those caaaats!

LOL YES!! You can never go wrong with instagram filters >:)
And thank you so much!! T w T

Very cool! Beautiful work!

My ultimate love from MM~!!!! <3 Let's get married at the space station!!!! This is AWEsome!!!!! <3

16-10-23-13-43-19-189_deco.jpg

Here's our wedding chips... <3 <3 <3

OH. MY. GOSH. YESSSSSSSS!!!!!! I LOVE THIS!! tegoshei x 707 = new couple. My man is Jumin, so I don't mind giving up 707 hehe ;)

hahaha... thanks for your support @pinqo! Let's have a double date soon... ❤❤❤

Awsome! That's a very good tutorial! ;)

Aww, I'm glad you like it, aci7! ^^ Thank you!

Congratulations @pinqo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

GURL ur art!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GIve me your Devianart!

HAHAHA! I don't post on there anymore, but my username is @pinqo on there. ^^

:) Oh great I am going to follow you on dev, I am looking forward for our collab how about today or tomorrow?

Congratulations @pinqo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42