Anime Art #4: Playtime isn't over for Ahri~

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends!

Thanks for stopping by to check out more of my artwork. Today I am sharing a chibi illustration done of Ahri from League of Legends. She is by far my most favorite champion to draw from the game. Her long hair and fox ears are so fluffy that I've drawn her multiple times. This is actually my 2nd iteration of the same drawing, but you will see the 1st version in this post. Maybe you will like one version over the other?

Time taken: 8 hours

Materials

  • Wacom Intuos 3 Tablet, Medium
  • Paint Tool SAI

The Process

Going into this, I knew the specific pose to give to Ahri: something that shows off her adorable, temptress side while emphasizing her flirtatious curiosity. My goal was to show both cuteness and innocence in this picture (even though we all know Ahri isn't so nice, heh). The pose were most likely my favorite part to sketch, as it portrayed Ahri as this pure fox demon who just wants to play~


This is the lineart and inking phase! I kept pretty close to my sketch as possible, which is usually not the case many times (if you've seen my other Anime Art posts). I kept the hair very simple so that the shading and coloring process later will be very simple.


Now it is time to put down the "base" colors. Base colors are the basic, foundational colors that will start off your coloring process. You will then later add shadows and highlights. If you haven't noticed, I used a very washed-out version of these color choices. The red is an off-red and faded maroon; the blue has a much more grayish tint, and the tails are not white, but instead a beige or tan. I like using the color picker tool and color wheel so I can preview what the tones will look like before I lay down the colors.


Shading has been added to the entire character now. I like to use tints of other complementary colors instead of just choosing darker shades of the same color. For example, on Ahri's dress, the red portions are shaded by a slightly more purple and violet mixture.

In the hair, there is a bit of purple and green as well. Her eyes also has a combination of both yellow, purple, and hints of pink. Colors are so beautiful and vibrant that I try to add a splash of everything somewhere on the picture!

I also add a technique called "fringe" that is available on Paint Tool SAI, which adds a line of darker colors at the edge of the shades. If you look at Ahri's legs, near her upper thigh and knee, you can see a small mark of dark brown that outline the edge of the shade. This is an effect that I like to add to make the shading more visible.


Now the finishing touches. Here, I add some highlights like in the eyes, and skin. I also added a bit of a fade effect on the tails to give it a more ethereal look. A yellow overlay tone is also added to give it even more of a saturated look. In some areas of the picture, you can see spots of white colors airbrushed into the final illustration.

Looking back at it now, I am not too fan of the blurred look, nor do I think the yellow background and text give it too much of a meaning. I should have chosen something better or completely leave out the background!

Version 2

After about 3 or so months, I decided to change up the style of my coloring. I moved away from the more washed out and saturated result and wanted something a lot more vibrant and colorful in general. I enjoy the neon edges and highlights throughout the picture. All the colors have more purpose and effect. You can see tints of several colors much more obviously, like in Ahri's eyes. I really enjoy this style right now!



 

Feel free to leave comments & questions. Let me know what you think!

Anime Art #1 : Mystic Messenger Yoosung (Original)
Anime Art #2 : "V" Fanart, Old Manga Style
Anime Art #3: Two Beautiful Boys to Die For
Anime Art #4: Playtime isn't over for Ahri~
Anime Art #5: 2 Boys 1 Cat (Yuri On Ice)
Anime Art #6: My Own Anime Mascot (Pinqo)
Anime Art #7: 최세영 Saeyoung Choi 707 Fan Art


Sort:  

It's adorable 😃 I'm personally more a fan of the second one, i like that it's a bit more colourful. Keep it up ☺

Awww, thank you so much scarlet!! And I agree, the 2nd one has a lot more colors so I like it much more. XD

Aaah, I like Ahri! I sed to play her quite often ^^

Well done!

Oh!! So you play League of Legends?! (And if you've played Ahri... then are you a mid player? :) ) Haha, I love her design a lot but mechanically she's hard for me to play. T_T

Thank you so much!

She's a beast when she's fed!

Also I basically play any role... Not specifically good in any role, but I like rotating around the map. In ranked I generally play Jungle as Warwick or Trundle :)

nice work keep up

Thanks so much, I appreciate the support @rudel ! :)

Awesome! I love to draw anime too! I have so many reference but i can only draw it by pencil and sign pens... would it be easy to draw in digital? 😊

That's great! I think your cute piggy artwork is adorable. :)
I think drawing digitally is definitely a steeper learning curve in the beginning, but once you start, it's hard to go back! At least in my experience... haha!

Thanks for sharing this. I always enjoy reading posts where people share their artwork as well as seeing the progress from start to finished product. @pinqo

Thank you so much @thanh-gianga! I'm so happy to hear that you've enjoyed reading this. :D

I'm a big fan of Ahri since some years ago, and this post have my complet aprovation XD

OH YAY! Another Ahri fan. Yes, she is the prettiest character to draw I think. I'm glad I got your approval! XD Hehe

I'm fan of Ahri since i know about LOL, around 5 years ago, actually i made a drawing of her original splash art, is in my wall if you want to see it XD

Wow! Your Ahri looks great. I think it's wonderful you added your own style to the original splash art. The patterns on her sleeves turned out great too! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Moo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

THIS IS SO CUUUUUUTE! And 8 hours of time for a chibi... wow :o Still looks amazing! Great work

YEEEEE, Thank you linebacker! You are so sweet <3
And yes! The first chibi took me about 4-5 hours, mostly experimenting and re-doing a lot of different styles until I felt comfortable with one final result. The 2nd chibi was somewhat the same, but I had a better idea of the overall look I was going for. ^^

Do you know I love your works? I like some day I design as well as you.

Wow! Thank you so much!! I am so flattered that you hope to be like me one day. I am sure you will be much more better than I am in no time. ^^

Oh she is so adorable! I love this so much! And the line art looks lovely. Ive always admired people who could do line art nicely, especially with digital drawings since I find it so dificult myself. Can't wait to see more! :)

Awww, thank you so much!! You have no idea how nice it is to hear such a nice comment from someone as talented as you are. :D Now I'm inspired to work even harder~ <3 Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48