Tulle and lace

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Tulle and Lace is part of The Memories Series that I am developing, the poems and images explore the concept of a memory. Taking old snapshots of people and places, I interpret the images from the notes written on the back of these pictures and post cards, or stories passed on by word of mouth.

tulle and lace red (2).jpg

The image 'Tulle and Lace' is composed of a cyanotype made from scanning an old wedding photograph to make a negative, with the addition of a poem. The negative was then placed on top of chemically treated paper with pressed flowers, leaves and a paper doily, and then exposed to UV light . The finished cyanotype was then scanned and a digital layer of colour added.

The poem I wrote was based on my own viewpoint of the photograph.

Tulle and lace

A cascade of joy

And tumbling foliage

An ethereal glow

Of a beauty in white

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

If you want to learn more about how I make my cyanotype prints see my post Catching the sun- creating my cyanotype prints.

Sort:  

Congratulations lady @opheliafu beautiful work

That's a great photo and it is even better opheliafu'd! I had to look up tulle! I like new words that I didn't know!!

Well I researched what veils of that era were made from and I believe based on the particular style in the photo that it may be tulle.

I would suspect you are right. It's cool when you see how the threads are interlaced to give it its structure!

Tulle is cool.

I had to look it up too, "a light weight, very fine netting, often starched" Haha!

I like to create art, and inspire research too, lol.

LOL. I love expanding my vocabulary ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What a wonderful idea! There's something so gentle and beautiful about your art and your words. I wanted to let you know that I am putting up a post today about my steemit journey so far, a milestone post but done very differently. And the tree you gifted the community around christmas time will be in it with you :)

Ahh, that is wonderful. I'll look out for it. You can always post the link here too.

I do like this well done :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41