Tree on the Hill

in #art7 years ago (edited)

tree hill thumb.jpg


A couple of days ago I painted the view from the small port at Port Manech in Brittany, France. The view included a beautifully shaped tree on top of the hill looking out across the water. I took that tree as inspiration for this new painting.
portcarpaintsml.jpg

Original painting from my post Painting the view.

treehill.jpg

You can see in the picture above a comparison between the original painting that I made a couple of days ago and the new piece. The tree in the original painting made me think of the trees in Japanese art. So I used this as the starting point for my new watercolour, adapting my style and brush marks. I'm currently in an area of Brittany that inspired many impressionists painters, some of whom had a Japanese influence on their own work such as the artist Carl Moser.

treehillclose.jpg

Japonism

First described by French art critic and collector, Philippe Burty in 1872, Japonism, from the French Japonisme, is the study of Japanese art and artistic talent. Japonism affected fine arts, sculpture, architecture, performing arts and decorative arts throughout Western culture. The term is used particularly to refer to Japanese influence on European art, especially in impressionism.
Source Wikipedia

tree hill zoom.jpg

A close up of the paintings details

If I was to explore this style of painting further I think I would look at adapting my colour palette, and the type of brushes I use.

'Tree on the Hill' -2017

tree hill painting.jpg

Watercolour on paper

Sort:  

Very nice work :)

I LOVE the looks of that tree. Your work is continues to be amazing.

Thank you. I try to continue to progress and develop my style, everyday is a journey as an artist!

Omg you painted this !
I love those shades and the reflection of sun in water !
Hats off @opheliafu

I'm keeping an eye for your future posts now

Thank you @heelzkinu, I'm developing this style of painting- so I'll see where it goes. :D

What a lovely work! Since you seem to enjoy both my contry and painting... are you planning on going to Normandy to see Honfleur? Definitely would recommend!

Ahh yes Normandy, I was there last year (there are some posts on my blog somewhere). I didn't go as far as Honfleur though, Caen was the furthest I went in that direction.

Ahh yes Normandy, I was there last year

Ha, didn't dig that deep into your blog ! The region in itself is very nice too

I have been really struggling to get back to all my replies and see everyone on here I like and have been thinking of you.

I am sorry I have not been by your blog and have missed hearing from you too.

Are you still travelling or ?? If I am reading this post correctly.

I am stressing out with some stuff, it was past time I found some time to get over to your lovely artwork again.

Did a drive by voting of a pile of your posts, sorry my VP is super drained right now again!!!

I hope you are well Miss O.

Saw comments today on my blog from your fella, asked him to say hi for me as usual but made my way here asap.

Won a trip to SteemFest via @joseph's page and hoping to do my best to get there!!

  • that is my rambly update for ya LOL

Lovely as always @opheliafu! I love how you did it in two different styles, the one in the Japanese style is super cool, I think you should for sure explore this style :)

Thank you, it was actually harder to paint the more simplistic Japanese style piece as the placement of every brush stroke counts, little room for error.

It looks quite different from your usual style as well, and it's always more challenging when you step into territory you aren't familiar with. Great job on it :)

you are really talented :)

Love how you combine the story and painting together.
It's very chill and interesting to read.
Thanks for your hard work! :)

I like to provide an entertaining post! ;D

I really like this one...

I love to see some few drawings, nothing special in themselves, but as a whole forming something vivid, something unique. Well done! God bless you

I will take that as a compliment, thank you :D

Oh, it surely was meant that way! LOL
If you zoom in and consider the individual lines you've drawn they're inexpressive. But if one takes some steps back and consider them as a whole they suddenly form something you can't find in the individual. You can find it only in the god given spirit. I think Einstein once said: One plus one doesn't always equal two, sometimes it's three or even more. I really love to see that happen. :)

Haha, I get you now!
The lines are simplistic in form but placed in the correct position create a more impressive view.

That's what I wanted to communicate, I guess... :-P
Sorry, english isn't my native language. :)

OK, you just made me go to plain air:) You're my motivator;)

You wouldn't be motivated if you were here right now, it's raining bucket fulls!

We also have a rainy summer:) But right now its dry:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01