The Star Thief

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Star Thief thumb.jpg

The Star Thief

The Star Thief was a lonely soul who had never learnt to dream. Each night he would walk through the streets listening to the dreams of people as they slept. The most beautiful dreams would travel up to the sky and become shining stars, the brighter the star shined the more the dream would come true.

Star Thief sml.jpg

The Star Thief longed to dream like the others, and over time this desire turned to jealousy. He saw more and more dreams coming true, and each night as he walked the streets the stars above seemed to shine even brighter.

One night he became so annoyed that he jumped on to the roof tops and attempted to reach the stars. At first he stood on his tiptoes and reached out with stretched fingertips, his finger lightly grazed the edge of a glowing star. He moved back along the roofline and with all his energy took a running jump straight into the sky. He reached out his arms and grasped at the stars above him, and then he began to fall back to the ground. He hit the earth with great speed, and a cloud of dust billowed up into the sky. He straightened himself up from where he lay on the floor, uncurling his hand to reveal a shining star. It was so small. He knew this must be the dream of a child.

Enthused by his new shining possession he threw a sack over his shoulder and began jumping off the roof tops with great velocity, soaring into the sky. He grabbed handfuls of stars at a time, and by morning there were no stars left in the sky. No dreams left to come true.

At first he was pleased with himself. After all if he couldn't dream why should anyone else have their dreams come true? However, over time that pleasure turned to guilt. He felt sorry for the people around him, without the possibility of their dreams coming true they lost some of their sparkle and their eyes became a dull grey. Even the sound of children's laughter stopped as they no longer wanted to play. The Star Thief had underestimated the power of a dream.

The Star Thief didn't think he had the energy to return all the stars back into the sky by himself, so he hatched a plan. He took each star and planted it into the ground. He watered and cared for it until each star grew into a silver dandelion. The children saw these and ran to pick them. Each dandelion was covered in stars, and each star was a new dream.

circledandelionbluesml.jpg

Every time a child blew a silver dandelion the stars floated back up to the sky, carrying the new dreams. Before long there were more stars in the sky than ever before. Content with his work the Star Thief lay down to rest, and before long he fell asleep. For the first time ever the Star Thief began to dream. It was a wonderful dream in which the world around him flourished and the people were happy. So as it turned out it was not that the Star Thief was unable to dream, he just needed to wait for the right dream to find him. As the Star Thief slept soundly the star in the sky above his head shone so brightly that it lit up the whole sky.

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

I wrote that story to go with my illustration ' The Star Thief'- 2017, made with water-based paint on cyanotype paper. I hope you enjoyed it!

Star Thief vsml.jpg

Sort:  

What a lovely concept maestro, always rendering me speechless with each master piece....

Well you are a wonderful audience to play for!!!

awwwwh.....this means a lot to me, i stopped doing art while i was growing up but i still have it in my heart.

I think there is a place in everyone's heart for art, it's just finding a way in :D

Very true.....

It is clear that you still have art in your heart! Your comment is just beautiful! Thanks for being part of such a beautiful place!

You are most welcome and i appreciate this kind words.

Magical story and photo! My nephew will love having this read to him.

I hope he enjoys it @gringalicious, that is a real compliment!

Indeed. I actually had the same thought about reading this to my nephews! It is a really wonderful piece of arts!

upvoted and resteemed. I totally love this story!! It is beautiful and refreshing. Two of my granddaughters are home schooled. I work with them on art projects and some of their creative writing. I am going to have them read this then write a story of their own. I am excited to see what they come up with!!

That is wonderful!
You may like this way of approaching creative writing- I made the illustration then wrote the story around the illustration. I wrote Moon Baby in the same way.

You should do a post about that. The idea that you got from the story, and the stories that your grandbabies come up with. Maybe have them do their stories the same way this one was done. Have them draw a picture and then write the story based on the picture. I love to see the community engagement, and I would love to see what the grandkids come up with!

It has a childlike innocence and beauty - this is good enough to be published - wow! Thanks for sharing it with us fellow Steemians and dreamers alike @opheliafu

Thank you @greenstar, that is very kind. It's only the first draft- so maybe needs a bit more work.

You've definitely got a little gem of a story there!

A shining star maybe?! lol

Lol. I said the same thing about getting this published. It belongs on the shelf with books like "Goodnite moon" and other children's bedtime stories. Really beautiful piece.

That's very kind. I'm not sure where I'd start with that but maybe a project for the future. I would make a couple of small changes I think.

Hello my friend
I see that through this drawing that man holds a lot of energy

Stolen energy, but he gives it back!

My God! Such a great concept and story

Thank you, I wrote a story called Moon Baby that you may like- it's on my blog (somewhere).

Would find it

Great post! Upvoted.

You're welcome. :-)

I'm going to read this story to the little one tonight. It was beautiful from start to finish! Well done!

That is the greatest compliment, thank you.

You are very welcome and I hope to read more of your stories!

Beautiful story lady @opheliafu I loved the star thief, beautiful work congratulations, thank you very much for sharing

You know that your posts inspire me to write, yes?

Beautiful pictures with a beautiful story. What an imagination you have. Always looking forward to your blogs.

I'd better keep on delivering then! Lol

Now that sounds like a great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43