The progress of a dream

in #art7 years ago (edited)

dAmericasml.jpg

'Dreaming America' 2017- digital collage in progress

This is not the finished art work, it's part of the process towards making a cyanotype. For this particular piece of work I wanted to create a portrait that combines photography and digital collage, then turn that into a negative to print a cyanotype from. I made the collage by layering different images from the internet over a photographic portrait. The current plan is to have a cyanotype on one half of the portrait as a background and the other half purely as a painting, but nothing is set in stone yet. Even though it's only part of the process for making a background I thought the digital collage turned out pretty well, so I decided to share it with you.

dreaming AmericaBTCcrop.jpg

I started to experiment a bit more with an inverted version, here's a little preview of my progress but I'm not finished on that one yet.

DAmericanegsml.jpg

'Dreaming America' 2017- negative

This is the negative I'll be printing a cyanotype from. You can find out more about how I make cyanotypes here and some of my recent cyanotype and digital work here.

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful work lady @opheliafu, very good technique, congratulations

Thanks @jlufer, the final cyanotype painting will be a lot more delicate in colour and detail, but I think it's interesting to share the process.

I am glad you dropped that link on my page so I would not miss it.

Thanks for that.

I looked for the Twin Towers and something indicating a false flag attack but you are not done yet, so here's hoping LOL.

  • have a nice Sunday! Say hi to your husband for me!

There won't be anything like that, the work is in response to a set exhibition theme. The next piece will focus more on film and popular culture.

That's a really clever collage. I didn't even notice the sold portrait aspect at first. (my daft bad) it's fab. Gives me lots of ideas!!

Maybe a Steemit portrait?

There are some things that I shan't subject Steemit to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44