496-Green

in #art7 years ago (edited)

postimage

Stories and memories are often passed down by word of mouth, or through written accounts and photographs.

These memories can become altered, like an image that has been photocopied several times. The image loses details, but also gains new ones from the unique flaws of each copy machine.

The image ‘496-Green’ is part of The Memories Series where I take old photographs, postcards and written notes and create cyanotypes and digital artwork.

The process

process.jpg
I made a negative by scanning the old photograph and postcard, and creating a composition of these in a graphics editor. I placed this negative on top of paper treated with light sensitive chemicals. Exposing the paper to UV light, the cyanotype paper turns from yellow to a blue grey. The paper will stay lighter where it has not been exposed to the UV light. Find out more about this process at my post Catching the sun- creating my cyanotype prints.

After washing the cyanotype in water the image is blue. The image is then scanned and digital layers of drawing and colours are added.


‘496-Green’

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

That's very nice... appropriate, somehow. Memories (at least for me) tend to be somewhat "oddly" coloured and occasionally slightly out of focus. Very cool!

Thank you for this comment. I was thinking about the colour of memories when I made today's post. The idea of focus is a very interesting one.

Excellent work, lady @opheliafu, beautiful, very good technique

Thank you @jlufer. Your words are always very kind.

Lovely way to keep memories :)

Maybe I can use some of my SteemFest photos for the next project!

That's a good idea :)

Upvoted and commented so I can come back and see the images when the internet unF*#ks itself haha. Not usually my practice but I love your content so I'm sure I'd enjoy this. Hope you're having a great week!

I appreciate the support and the faith you have in my work! I will have to think of a non-image based way to create my work in the meantime!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That cyanotype really makes the old postcard look older, yet more alive, like it's in some other state -- not quite ghost, not quite a dream. Which, I guess is what a memory really is - not quite a ghost, not quite a dream. wow. : )

I think that is a beautiful description of a memory, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39