Skull revival

in #art7 years ago

skullCLNthumb.jpg

Life in these old bones

Over the past few days I've been working on a new skull design, I used to draw a lot of these types of skulls but I've had a little break from drawing them the past few months. This is the first is a new series I'm doing, so expect a few more characters in the coming months. I know the previous skull designs I did had their own little Steemit following, and I'm sure some folks will be happy that I bringing back this theme into my work.

nove1710.jpg

The design as drawn out in pencil before using watercolours to apply layers of colour and detail.
btcskulltable.jpg

The painting stage of this design is complete, but I will be adding more details to this design digitally. Normally I give each skull a name, and I do know the name of this skull character but I won't be sharing that today as the piece is still unfinished, and I don't want to give away the final details that are to be added.

skullCLN.jpg

Tally-ho!

You can see a collection of my previous skulls in the following posts:

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/ophelia-fu-s-family-of-skulls-part-1

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/ophelia-fu-s-family-of-skulls-part-2

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/ophelia-fu-s-family-of-skulls-part-3

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Saw this yesterday already.. interestingly enough, while I was smoking a cigar. Of course, right away it makes you think of the consequences of smoking, but with the color and the plants, its actually quite uplifting in the end :-)

I have a great image of you painting with a cigar in your mouth- I'm sure that isn't the case but don't spoil the illusion for me!

My grandfather always smoked a pipe when he painted and I loved the smell a lot. Even when it mixed with turpentine ;-)

Great Art made by Great Artist!!! There shud be text below it: "Smoking Kills"...hahaha :)

The skull (block) is a decorative item which can be used to craft various things. It can be mined from a fossil with a 10% of dropping and can be mined from permafrost with a 20% chance of dropping. It can be used as a jack-o-lantern when combined with a torch. It can be converted to bonemeal by itself. It can also be made into a skull stick with a stick, used for ordering large carnivores like Tyrannosaurus and Spinosaurus.

Fascinated with what you do .. CONGRATULATIONS.

Ghost rider redefined.... nice

Haha, yes a very posh Ghost Rider!

i like this art also , you have a talent @opheliafu , keep sharing ..

Thank you very much

That's an interesting piece... I'll be curious to see where you take it from here... I'm only vaguely familiar with the physical-to-digital process.

I usually use the process for adding text or logos for designs that are going to be printed on products.

Ah, I see... we get a little bit of digital art at our gallery, usually someone does a pencil sketch free-hand and then moves it to the computer for digital manipulation and colouring.

Yes, that is a popular technique. I still prefer to apply most of my colours with paint though.

apoyo mucho tu arte, admiro la forma en como dibujas, te felicito y que tengas muchos éxitos tienes mucho talento. por favor sigue mi cuenta y vota por mis publicaciones.

I love this! :) Awesome painting!

Thanks for sharing! I really like how you stylized the skull.

Thank you- those little style touches are fun to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44