Shadow mapping- bamboo

in #art7 years ago

The sun this morning was casting long shadows across the paths and fences. The shadows were dancing in the breeze to the tune of the bird songs.

march 20171.jpg

I went out with my paintbrush and watercolours to see if I could capture some of the tall shadows that the bamboo was leaving against the fence. It was also a good opportunity to catch a few rays of sun while it lasted!
march 2017.jpg

march 20172.jpg


Video: Shadow painting bamboo- 32 seconds long .

If you enjoyed the idea of drawing shadows you may like these previous posts on shadow mapping from September 2016:

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/shadow-mapping-in-watercolour-part-2-of-3

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/shadow-mapping-in-black

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/shadow-mapping-in-oil-pastel-part-3

Have a beautiful day!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

@opheliafu you're freaking awesome!
Such a creative thought to use the shadow for this one!

Beautiful painting, a great idea!

Thank you fleur.

Great painting. I love bamboo. Got it up the back of my garden, it's really cool

Just make sure it's in pot and on a concrete base- it spreads.

Yes that's true, more of a curse in a warmer climate. Up here it hardly does at all!! I have it in the ground because at the particular bit it is I want it to be a screen. I want it to spread!!!

You may regret it one day.

I have that feeling ;0)

Have a good week man!!

like mint and raspberries lol, both are excellent though. Hmmm minty rasberries.........

  • drools

My guinea pig is crazy about mint!

Sounds yummy!

I love it! This fits perfectly with the music I'm listening to... I think you'll like it. 'The Universe Smiles Upon You' by Khruangbin.

I'll check it out! Thanks.

Checked them out-very cool!

Yeah, I've been stuck on that album lately. A Texas band obsessed with 60's Thai pop... ya gotta love it. :)

Yes you have! I work a fair bit to Goldfrapp albums.

Great work lady @opheliafu, a real pleasure to visit your work. Congratulations

Great stuff my artsy friend. As you know I posses none of your artsy goodness lol

Did you ever do a post or a reply anywhere to explain your screen name on here, why you picked it? If you did or could type in a search string somewhere on a reply if you were asked..... I have always wanted to know.

If you do not mind anyways.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What a smart way to do your painting! I sure like seeing a person's art process, especially yours!

That is so cool, and so very creative. Have to move along though, they never hold still ( : Thanks for the video sharing the method as well...makes it even more interesting and interactive. It might be interesting to put music to a video of the whole process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34