Doodle development part 2

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Today, I have been combining oil pastels, watercolours, gouache paint, pen, pencil crayon and wax crayon to create a range of mixed media work.

My aim is to experiment with techniques and materials, and to further my knowledge of how they work together. I don't like every result, sometimes things don't work how I think they will, but other times I discover wonderful mistakes! This post is following on from my previous post Doodle development part 1.

Doodle 2

I developed the initial doodle design further with pencil crayon, oil pastel and wax crayon. The wax crayon and pencil gave the thinner lines and still resisted the watercolours.

After I had allowed 2 layers of watercolour to dry I added gouache paint in red and white.

Doodle 3

I think this is the favourite of my experiments. I like the rich colours and bright yellow, but I also like the range of line in this piece. The most interesting is a small wavy line subtly weaving its way through the heavier oil pastel lines, I created it using paint pen.


I added a couple of layers of red and orange watercolour paint. Once dry I added white gouache highlights. I observed that the gouache crumbled when dry anywhere it had made contact with the oil pastel, I like this effect and may use it again.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://s25.postimg.org/x0yxbs6tb/dreamlink_FB.jpg

Sort:  

Pretty - nice colour choices

I like doodle 3, not so sure about 2- though it looks nicer in real life.

I think the more I look at your 3 doodles, the more doodle #2 is growing on me. There's something appealing about the circles and combination of colors that really draws me in the more I look at it.
The best way I could describe it is like... It's like watching the tiny moving parts of a well-made watch.

I love the colors. Resteemed!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61