Cube Rocks

in #art7 years ago (edited)

cuberocksthumb.jpg

Rocky inspiration

This is the third painting I have made of this rocky subject matter, each time my viewpoint and style has changed as my familiarity with the scene progresses.

rocksphoto.jpg

The process

This time instead of starting with a drawing I lay down layers of watercolour on to the page to suggest the accents of colour that I could see in the rocks. Already at this point I was considering the edges of the rocks and the motion of descending into the sea.

cuberocksprocess.jpg

brushcubethree.gif

After applying the watercolour I added sharp, quick lines in pen. The pen lines were to suggest the angles of the rock shapes and shadows.
cuberocksprotwo.jpg

'Cube Rocks' 2017


cuberocksfinal.jpg

watercolour and pen on paper

Progression of style

I thought it would be interesting to compare these 3 paintings of the same subject that I have painted over the past few days.
Why not have a look at Coastal Blocks and Sea Rocks and see the inspiration and process behind these works.

progressionofwork.jpg

Have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

I like your expression. nice works! :)

I am a great admirer of your works, every day you surprise us with something wonderful, thank you very much lady @ opheliafu for this beautiful work
Have a great day

Thank you so much for these kind words @jlufer

Nice art, u are rocking on steemit girl:) Iam not sure u are so tough as my neanderthal girl but it is prety close! Check out my works, would be honored to get followed by you. My recent post.

Great selection and mixture of colors...good job indeed.

Very kind, thank you so much!

Welcome, and keep up the great posts..I am impressed.

You're art always make my day better. Thanks for that :D

@opheliafu really nice work would love to see more keep steeming on

Thank you- Steem on!!

Nice job every time you are keeping it real love to see more of it.

Good to know :D
Thank you!

Nice work @opheliafu.... What type of painting style would this be... Expressionist???

I would say it has a cubist influence, what do you think?

Yeah... That also goes.... Nice

Nice, I'm working on watercolors too. :)

Excellent! Is that your favourite medium?

Actually, I've been trying different mediums like color pencils, digital art, oil pastels, chalk pastels, acrylic paint, oil paint, charcoal, watercolor and lastly pencils. I like using all of them, but I need to master them. As of now, I'm attempting to get better with watercolors. :)

I wish I was good at art haha.
Gret painting again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61710.86
ETH 3388.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50