Echoes from the past, made to last

in #art8 years ago (edited)

A work I once made using the so called 'polaroid' style, for the entrepreneur, at that time, of the pub in the image. He was about to sell it, after years of sharing good and bad times there. I was not a regular customer back then, but now and then I'd like to go there. Did some photography and some web related productions for that pub too in that period in time. It was always fun to be there, still know a lot of people who came there back then. Operators change, pub visitors change, but the memories once shared are for life.

While I was doing some productive things this morning I came about this one. It also connects to some very personal memories. Of people long gone. And sometimes it seems memories tend to freeze at some point, while times rushes by. Melancholy? Maybe, could be, and it does not always have to have a bad ring to it, right? When I look at this picture, I do remember a lot, specially people who I carry with me in my heart and memory. That might seem strange because, like in a lot of my art, there are no humans to be seen. Or any life form for that matter. It is like everything was left behind, just like it was at a certain point in time. That could be what it means when it is said that a house is just a bunch of bricks, but it becomes a home when it's filled with life, laughter and love.

One thing I remember of a good friend of mine, back when we were younger. Being there, until the morningsun almost hit our eyes, singing AC/DC at the top of our voices. And when it was time to leave for home, we always said goodbye like this: "See you when I see you." Not many years after that he had to say goodbye to life in this time and age, like they say way before his time. Now I remember him, just like my dad and all those who have a connection to that pub for one reason or another. And I guess now autumn is near, I do miss them some more.

This morning my daughter came to me when it was time to get up. Said that she was worried about me. Told her to trust me, in that this time will pass, I have been here before, it just takes time. And she knows me well enough to believe me. There are times that my body challenges me, but that is all that there is too it. Because I have so much in my life to be thankfull for. Friends, family, my own one at home, what makes it a home. And some of this reality I would love to have shared with those that left before I was ready for them to leave. But in some way, they also leave behind the echo that says: "Just live life the way you can."

It this a sad story? Well, the fact that I miss those who are still dear to me sometimes, is not a problem to me. It only tells me that they are worth to be missed dearly. But, I will also get up and love the life I live, enjoying all of that what makes it worth while. So, I'll go out, enjoy the sunny weather and be thankfull for all the beauty there is that reminds me of how good it is to be alive.

See you, when I see you!

artwork cc-by-sa @oaldamster

Sort:  

I like the coffee place. On Steemit it is likely read you, when I read you...

Not been there for a long time, but it is still there and much the same.

Okay: Read you when I read you! ;-)

Hello @oaldamster, I just stopped by to let you know that I included this post in my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble today. The post can be found here

Hi @shadowspub, thank you for including my post! Glad to know you appreciated it

@oaldamster Not a sad story, it's normalcy for people with a heart filled with good intents and love. Who - unlike others - care.. and maybe, these days, it's hard to find like minded people but when you look hard - they could actually be beside you. You've had good friends I suppose so you miss them? Your friends reflect who you are they say - I can only confirm my impression of you is so as what I think it is. If you happen to pay bitcoin city a visit keep me posted.
Live life as you can -I resonate with you on that there's too much good things around to be reason enough to live life - we just have to sometimes take a look. Fijne dag en veel plezier! ^ ^

Thank you for your kind and understanding reply Ivy. Let's live Life the way we can. And there are so many more that are in sync with these intensions. Met many here at SteemIt, like you for instance, and many others.

Hope I can one day be back in Arnhem too, sure would enjoy the Bitcoin Town of Nederland.

Fijne dag en veel plezier!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43