Steem monsters fan art - Mist Dragon

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey all

I was inspired by the Steem Monsters universe and the cool art contest held by @steemmonsters
So I did a speed painting of a Mist Dragon. This misterious dragon lurks deep in misty mountains that tower over the boggy lands below.

20180623_163725_0001.png

I created this piece with my iPad and Apple pencil using the app Procreate. Pretty much a painting sketch where I aimed to create an atmospheric portrait of my idea of a mighty Mist Dragon.

Final Image
Dragons.jpg

I started with a black paint brush and began working on the idea by very loosely blocking in the main silhouette. I played briefly with the idea of a fire breathing dragon, but felt like going for a more minimalist approach.
You can see an ultra speed timelapse of the process here.
Timelapse
20180623_083556.gif
You will notice I pulled back the view slightly to get more of the dragon into the picture, letting me add more depth with the misty atmosphere.

I refined and built up the layers of atmosphere which helped build up a sense of form and volume. I did use multiple layers in the image to give me some control over the intensity of the colour and opacity over the dragons head and neck.

Thats me for now :) Keep an eye for more monsters from me in the future.
Cheers
Nick aka @niko3d

Checkout my recent posts
Sunny monster
Tribal Candy
Mazda RX7 FD illustration, process and video timelapse

Sort:  

Cool drawing of the mist dragon, niko ! :D

Damn nice dragon there @niko5d ;)

You are all in into the monsters right?

Monsters and fun characters is ma thing :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

created this peice with my iPad and Apple pencil using the app Procreate.
It should be piece instead of peice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52