Inktober 16th to 19th portraits key light style by niko3d

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Howdy all

Had a busy week so as usual I'm playing catch-up with my inktober posts.
Heres my Inktober 16th to 19th drawings :)

Adobe_Post_20181021_115438.jpg

I went fine arts styley with 5 random portraits below.
The two bigger portraits are very loosely based on multiple references.
With the bottom two profile portraits and the top right are closer to the original reference.

Key light portrait .jpg

References included James Franco (top right) and Bill Bailey (mid right), the rest I didn't recognize.

Here's a timelapse of my inktober.


20181021_080537.gif
You will notice that I started this with random ink marks looking for inspiration for portraits. I then began to flesh out some shapes, finally moving to light use of various reference photos and finally ending with more photo reference driven portrait.

I also did some random silly Sketches, including Ghost super Mario but not worth posting 😂 and a light and ink experiment with colourful/dark markers. You can see how the darker ink blocks the light well, while the colours shine when the you have a light source behind the paper.
pixlr_20181021082609949.jpg

Thanks for viewing.
Cheers
Nick aka @niko3d

Be sure to check out one of my newer portraits too
Adobe_Post_20181022_203133.jpg

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

TMC_Site_Banner_small

Sort:  

Hi @niko3d,

Love the art, great compositions. I would have liked to see some more of the process though.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

That's awesome :) thanks again for supporting the art and creative community here. I agree on the process side of things, unfortunately I was relying on the timelapse feature of ProCreate on iPad but it seems to have a bug where parts of the timelapse are missing.

Much appreciation :) and look forward to seeing the next showcase too.

Oh if there is time for additions to that post.
I'd like to mention that this image and alot of my recent inktober artwork really helped me to be more relaxed about my mark making to create art that's more expressive and less about the tiny details.
I found that starting with a little chaos at the start of this peice not only inspired me but set a state of mind to be less analytical, looking at the most important aspects of each portrait to put down on paper while maintaining some freedom from the reference material.

Many Thanks
Nick

Hi niko3d,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for the lovely curie support :-)

howdy from Texas niko3d! wow these are really good, they are very stark and moody. One of the faces reminds me of a young Muhammad Ali.

Hey are you a Walking Dead fan or just like Negan's look?

Thanks :) yeah I can see the resemblance to Ali, he would be a cool portrait to make to be honest.
I am a fan of The walking dead, I'd say less so with latest seasons however but still entertaining for sure :) Negan is a great character, full of energy and charisma in an evil kinda of way. Check out the main post for that image too, I have a better timelapse of the work on him there.

thank you, I agree about the latest seasons of TWD!

It's a very interesting technique. I love it! You simply make some random ink marks and the result is this!? If I would put random ink marks then they would stay random ink marks :D

My favorite would be that angry man on the right (top) and that lady. It even looks like she would be having a conversation with the guy on the left. She looks sad and he looks guilty. I wonder what he did to her..

All those portraits are very good! I like that they are so dark. It makes me think about their emotions.

Thank you for sharing Niko!

Thank you delishtreats :) there certainly feels like a story or connection with the bottom two portraits :)
Keylighting like this with portraits always amplifies expression I find, as the forms around the eyes, eyebrows and mouth are more pronounced. Great for moody and expressive work.

cuddle_serenade.png

Those are all really fantastic @niko3d - you are VERY talented!

Thanks Jaynie :-) I try my best in the non family and work time I have during the evening.

These are really interesting. Loved your process of drawing. The way you converted random ink marks into faces is really impressive. Looking forward to more great content.

Glad you enjoy the process :-) I like the idea of using random shapes and marks to gain inspiration.

Wow, that's really good. It should easily be one of the best works I've seen here at Steemit. You are an artist!

Thanks that's such a lovely thing to say :)

Thank you for such summarized work for Inktober, that contest really inspired Artists and let their imagination go. I like the way you started your sketches, like simply trying to find out the right values and tones. The end result is amazing, love the features of portraits, their emotions, the values you put into them. Beautiful work!

Thanks Stef, it's a fun way to find inspiration as well.

Wow, Inktober again destroying.

It's such an interesting technique, it's brutal that feeling you generated in terms of darkness, a penumbra that wraps the faces, wow.

Thank you for sharing this bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44