An Argantuan for Gregory

in #art8 years ago

cover

@gregory-f made a request:

This may be a little silly for a request, but I think your Argantuan is fantastic. I would love to see Dagr working as a bone smith as described in the opening paragraph of this entry: https://steemit.com/writing/@benjojo/hearts-of-darkness-plague-of-the-void-seeds-8

I picture Dagr sitting on a tiny stool hunched over a tiny grindstone, very small wire rimmed glasses perched on the end of his nose. Wearing a leather apron and working on a tiny sword. Thin wisps of his silver tinged Mohawk cascading down his furrowed brow. Kind of like "Geri the Cleaner" from Toy Story 2.

I tried to draw this scene, but my skill was lacking. Severely lacking! I would love to see your interpretation of that scene. Perhaps with a human watching to give everything a proper perspective like you did in your original Argantuan drawing.

It's not silly at all. I started off with this thumbnail. I think it contained many of the details, and the spirit of your requests. #voidart I gave him a long horn, as I recall that older rhinos have longer horns.

Thumbnail

Unfortunately, something disconnected between the thumbnail and the final. Little details like the positioning of the glasses and the wisp of hair. He seems a little less friendly to me now. For some reason I kept thinking about this old biker I know. He is a nice guy, but its hard to tell from first glance.
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

So what do you think Gregory? I might just try again tomorrow, but I thought it would be good to get your response to this one first. Please let me know what you think.


Content created by Robert B Kirkpatrick for Steemit.
Please read more of my work at Neopatriarch's Steem Page

Imgur

Take some time to read more of my work published on Steem.

My Comic Stories
Dr. Strangefur: Private TimeA Furry Post-Apocalyptic Sci-fi War Story
Big Lie An original noir sci-fi comic
Bus Stop a short comic about frustration with public transportation.

My Drawing Tutorials
How to Draw an Alien Head
How to Draw this Ghost

My Comic Stips about Bitcoin
My Bitcoin Comic
Bitcoin Comic #2
Another Bitcoin Comic

Tips can be sent by Bitcoin with the QR code below.

Imgur

Sort:  

Wow! That is much better than I had imagined. I love the detail. I'm reblogging this so everyone can enjoy it. I hope all who see this reblog it as well. Thank you for honoring me with your art and interpretation of my vision.

Great! I'm so glad you like it. Illustration, its what I do. Doing it for others, turns what is mostly a lonely practice, into a way to connect with others. So thanks for engaging with me and my work.

Great drawing! Nice character!

Thanks fellow artist. Your own work is so fun and engaging. W

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66