Fire And Grace | Art Painting And PoetrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Fire And Grace

In a corrupt world
you don't have to do any wrong
to be considered an outlaw.
Running free, Lord, protect me
on this journey with pitfalls
and traps all around,
guide my steps
and light my way.
A righteous fire blazes within,
and like a lamp
it enlightens vision.
Burn away fear,
burn away injustice,
burn away hate,
burn Babylon burn.

-nathanjtaylor


first layer

filling in the form of subject and establishing color


adding in details with black line


detail pic / partial view


final artwork
by nathanjtaylor

Sort:  

I like this post. I ran out of upvote juice (20 limit) so I can only comment. Great job by the way.

Thanks! It's ok, I appreciate the comment. @darthnava

Oh, I see, great! These works are much more posotive :-)

:) Great! I'm glad you like it @borishaifa

Your paintings are very cool and your words are very inspirational but they aren't poetry: you wrote prose (and a prayer) vertically. All your other posts are the same. Ericvancewalton often does the same thing-writes prose vertically, without much punctuation and calls it poetry. It's nice to be inspirational and you still deserve the up votes for that but it's just not poetry, as it has no 'music', no rhythm, no beat.
It's actually difficult to write decent poetry and it's difficult for people to appreciate it and now they don't have to bother trying, as they can read easy vertical prose instead, in the mistaken belief that they are appreciating good poetry.

I could say...
I disagree
I disagree
I disagree
And that would be a poem. I could scratch black lines and splash red circles on white canvases
and that would be art. All art is defined by the creators intention. Poetry is not required to have a standard beat or rhythm, free verse poetry for example, or free style rap. Isn't jazz music? They often go any and everywhere in their songs. Or a solo riff on a electric guitar. Breaking from any pattern for moments. You can say my poetry is no good, that would be your opinion, but to say it's not what it is that would just be incorrect. My writings are my artistic expression provoking real emotions and composed thoughts that I have been working on for many years. It is poetry, it is art. Thank you for finding inspiration and value in my work and sharing your thoughts. Be well, peace.

Free verse still needs something to distinguish it from prose, otherwise poetry is being completely trivialised. Free verse has music, but you are right, its music isn't a beat, I didn't explain that properly.
From the line, "A righteous fire.." it does turn into a poem, but as a whole, it's a real mishmash.

Awesome, I am going to follow you my creative new friend.

Thank you @keithwillshine I browsed your blog and it looks very interesting, I will be following you too. Cheers!

Beautiful patterns, rich colours. Your work really stands out!

Absolutely wonderful paintings, I hope to see many more now I'm following!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43