Inktober Day 10 and my final graduate school doodle

in #art5 years ago

I began drawing as a way to keep my mind in check to listen to lectures for grad school. I never knew that my drawings would take me on an interesting journey and introduce me to so much within an art community. Last night was my last class and this is as far as I got. I am not sure if anyone will see this message but thanks to everyone who ever complimented me and influenced me to keep up my art. It meant a lot. Because of those kind words, although my grad program is now essentially over, my art life is not.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I didn't know that others also drew, doodled, sketched to focus while in class.

On multiple occasions I had to explain to class Instructors that doodling in fact aided me to focus better. Also, the more that I appeared to not be listening was usually the very opposite.

There a young boy that was in my Daughter's classes who doodled a lot (grade 6) and it pained me to see that he was often asked to not do so while the teacher was speaking.

Humans have a long way to come in regards to understanding others.

Art is magik.

Yes, great points. I doodle to listen. It keeps me from looking around. I keep my patterns simple. I got to a point where I would just tell my professors on day 1. "Professor xxxxx, I am going to be drawing a lot in your class when you are lecturing. It keeps me from getting distracted ironically and helps me do well in class."
It did not matter as I would still get called out for doing it. However, I have maintained a 4.0 all through grad school and I am convinced that doodling was the reason.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This photo makes me feel tickled.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99