You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #1 - On the modern abuse of the word "art"

in #art8 years ago

You make an interesting point. Art to me is something that evokes emotion, positive or negative.

Hopefully it is pleasing to the eye and not offensive. What I find offensive may not be to someone else.

It seems that the cream usually rises to the top and the rest is a novelty.

I enjoyed your post. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Sort:  

(C) Thank you - I do believe that the category of art is “larger” than the category of what is non-offensive. For example, I would categorize something like the bombardment of Guernica by Picasso as somewhat offensive to the eye (especially knowing the inspiration) - and still art. Your point about art proving the test of time resonates so clearly with me, I agree wholeheartedly.

(F) - Thank you. I’m glad you liked it. I do think there’s lots of beauty to be found at the top, but certainly a lot of beauty has been lost as well. Like many of Sophocles’ plays (we have discovered 7 out of his 120 plays. Such a shame). Hopefully though, we’ll find what we need.

Do you differentiate then between "art" and "decoration", or are they the same?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43