Soon, My Love - original art and poetry by @merej99

in #art8 years ago

Soon, My Love

Soon, My Love by Meredith Loughran, art, depression, suicide, death


Standing here along the shore
I feel the sun’s kiss upon my tear-stained cheeks.
My toes sink into the warm sand,
As majestic waves scrape the beaches,
Recalling the ground-up earth back into its watery depths.


With urn in hand I know it’s time to let you go,
But my grasp is firm upon the cold casket where once your warm hand held mine.
What joy is love when found and abruptly taken away?
For I have been to the apex of unconditional love
And turned my back from the abyss of loneliness and despair.


But they were always there, waiting with outstretched arms and knowing smiles.
They knew I would be back.
Their embrace steals my breath as my lungs burn.
My windswept hair now dances in weightlessness
As the waters cool my heated skin and hollow body.


The urn is gently pried from my weak hands by a steady current
It floats and dances just beyond my reach
While I sink deeper into the unknown
And darkness surrounds me like a familiar blanket.

I will be with you soon, my love.





Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat


Wall of Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepperBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Name in silver by @neoxian8bit avatar by @williambanks

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Thanks @ontofractal and @linkback-bot-v0 I think it's a great service :)

That art work is one of your best @merej99. Good to hear from you. Hope all is well in FL.

Thanks, @runrudy
We were all good on the West coast of FL. My husband is on the emergency response team for Lowes so he's currently helping out in the north east coastal region. How goes it out on the West coast? That was a beautiful sunset under the bridge.

beautiful work congratulations, thanks for sharing

Thank you @jlufer - you're always here with a quick comment.

You have gotten quite the following since I started following your work. Keep it up I look forward to the daily reads :)

@d3nv3r - it's quite a bit of work and a lot of commenting in addition to curating. I hate to swing by with a sterile upvote. I think creators need feedback. Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate you.

You can swing by with a sterile upvote anytime lol

HAHA! It feels so much like a one-night stand...but would you respect me in the morning? ::wink::

Might even cook breakfast

Touching. I used draw similar as this to relieve sadness. Up voted and you up voting appreciated.

The image works wonderfully with the words

Thank you @opheliafu - believe it or not but the picture came before the words.

You have to love the mix of art and poetry, I am doing the same at @beginningtoend

I'll definitely be looking you up @beginningtoend - even your profile name is poetic!

Nice, Mere. It's a prose-poem and I loved the artwork and the meditative reflection

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67