@Neoxian - The Silverbug - and Scarab - (original art) Psst! This is your #NameInLights

in #art8 years ago

I wanted to take a moment to point the spotlight to a person whom I am blessed to be connected to.

@neoxian

This is your #NameInLights

Neoxian the silverbug art by Meredith Loughran


What can I say about @neoxian?

He's got a wicked sense of humor

He loves Cyberpunk music

Which I think is really cool because I listen to it and then my kids think I'm cool. LOL
The truth of it is - if you haven't listened to cyberpunk before, you should give it a try! I find that it motivates me and puts me in a happy place with solid beats and electric sounds.
Here are some of my favorites that he's posted:

I could list these all day long, but you get the point. If you want some upbeat tracks, he's got the goods.

But wait! There's more.

@neoxian is also an avid silver collector - The Silverbug - hence the inspiration for my drawing!

A couple of my all-time favorites that he's collected and shared are:

While his posts are a bit niche, @neoxian is a prolific curator - but what makes him stand out to me is his willingness to comment and engage the community.

I know he likes silver, but he's a real gem!

Neoxian the silverbug and scarab by Meredith Loughran
Early sketch


Now, you may be wondering why I included a scarab.

In Ancient Egypt, the scarab is revered and has a tremendous amount of symbolism.

  • Khepera translated from Egyptian is scarab.
  • Khepera refers to one of Egypt's ancient gods, whose full name is Khepera Kheper Djesef, which translates into "The One Who Creates Himself" [citation]
    I personally think this is appropriate for @neoxian.
  • The scarab is also associated to the Sun god, Ra, for it was believed that as the beetle rolled dung to it's burrow, so did Ra roll the sun across the sky.
  • Scarab amulets were fashioned and placed above the heart of the deceased. It was the counter-weight to the feather of truth upon judgement day. Insribed was a spell from the Book of the Dead, beseeching the heart: "Do not stand as a witness against me." [citation]


    Shading in the silver coins by Meredith Loughran, @neoxian, silverbug, art
    The sketch was traced with felt pen and marker before I began shading in the coins


Meredith Loughran art doodle @neoxian silverbug
And here I am posing with the final piece.
  • #NameInLights is an initiative started by @williambanks to highlight our followers in a positive way and friend-it-forward, building our audience and Steemit friends in a very organic way.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page


Wall of #Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepper8bit avatar by @williambanksBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on SteemitRequest your own verification badge @ Steem.chat

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn

Sort:  

Aww, thank you Meredith, I'm really touched. This is one of those times where I wish I could crank up my voting power 800% .

Edit: And I love the art and the choice of the scarab beetle.

My pleasure, love! Have a great day :)

Upvoted !
Look at my 4 Week Steemit-Lottery #3 , Vote to win Steem-Power.
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@herbertmueller/4-week-steemit-lottery-3-vote-to-win-steem-power-vote-um-steem-power-zu-gewinnen
Vote and follow me for the next Lottery

hi @herbertmueller - I don't mind people sharing links to their posts as long as it is appropriate and complimenting the original post. This does not. Please be aware that while I will not flag this, there are witnesses and bots who will. Tread with caution, love.

@merej99
Herbert is harmless.
I already pre-warn him about that, may ending up someone snack.

A reply is always good does actually bring up the post. I don't mind.

Thanks @bullionstackers. I always try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt because some people sincerely don't know any better. Better to start with a warning because one of my posts actually had a witness swoop in on someone and flag the heck out of them. I hate to see that happen if it was an honest oopsie.

Cheers merej99
Just remember , I am in the Neutral Zone.
Check my portfolio and my credentials .

My hubby's a big silver collector, takes him ages to clean the blooming stuff.

If I was going to collect anything, it would probably be silver and gold bullion. I just need a huge bag of unmarked $100s to fall out of the sky.

You are very creative and you have a lot of skills! and funny!!!! Very nice.

Thank you @the-future. It was a pleasure meeting you in steem.chat! :)

Yay! Nice work , cool idea.

Trying to kill two birds with one stone @opheliafu - shoutouts and art. There isn't enough time in the day to do everything I want to do! LOL

Love the scarab beetle, I could watch those critters working all day, they are fascinating.

I might have kept going with decorating the beetle if it was the only thing on paper. And I was at the store today drooling over acrylics and chalk! Everything's on the wish list! Don't tell my hubby, but I'm squirreling away a little money to get a wood burning tool. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80