''Tweeking the features'' - Day three of painting a portrait.

in #art6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Today I had a couple of hours to paint so I decided to tweek a couple of the features that i felt wasn't working out so far.

28278181_1802252296462731_987418530_o.jpg

To the left is the painting after todays painting session and to the right the way it looked when i started. Can you see what I've changed?
To read the previous posts in this series, here are the links;
https://steemit.com/art/@mayasky/a-step-by-step-photo-shoot-of-how-i-make-my-underpaintings
https://steemit.com/art/@mayasky/day-2-painting-a-portrait-introducing-colors

Well, the biggest thing that wasn't working out for me were the eyes! They looked a bit too far apart and the way I painted them also made her look a bit cross eyed..

When I change things in my paintings experience has thought me that I should always be a quite rough with the painting over. If not I just start to fiddle and never really get mych done. Also it's a lot quicker, though I know a lot of people who hate to go in with a big brush and loose what they might have spent hours to find.
Well, I think it builds trust in your abilities. If you found something once you can find it again! Hopefully even better.

So let's take a look at how I went about it;

28216930_1802252969795997_1543563947_o.jpg
The first thinng did was go over the face and scrape at it with a palette knife. I like to do this as it soften edges and it's a good way to erase things that aren't working out.. Like the mouth, I didn't like them too much either and now I have to fix them. :)

28312237_1802253166462644_759224513_o.jpg
The second thing I did was just to fill inn the iris with a general blue. The whole area so Im loosing all the subtleties. I also moved them a bit in the direction that I felt was better.

28170392_1802253199795974_1595283483_o.jpg
I then started fishing out the details starting with the darker blues in the shadows. I also put in the pupil in a dark blue just to get a feel for where they were without putting in the harsh black.

28207739_1802253123129315_356874064_o.jpg

The next step was adding the black of the pupil. In this stage I stayed for a long time moving it a bit around and repainting the edges of the black to make them smooth and intergrate it with the rest of the eye.

28217844_1802252583129369_2111742094_o.jpg

The last thing I did was add on the highlights and lighter areas of blue in the iris. here you can also see I've started to repeint the mouth. Well, I still have a bit of work to do there as well as n the rest of the face which will get some additional layers of paint to add struckture and texture. I will leave it for today though and maybe continue tomorrow! :)

What do you think of the eyes?
Better?

<3

Hope you've hall had a wonderful and creative day!

Sort:  

wow!! that is some serious detail, well done :) #followed

Thank you so much @stillmadic! :) appreciate it :)

I think the eyes are good, it's one of the very important part of the face. Upvoted and resteemed.

Super! :) I am glad you think so, and thank you so much for your support, appreciate it! :)

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Great revisions.

Thank you so much @davidcheifetz! :)

I honestly LOVE both versions, and seeing your process

Thank you very much! :D

Amazing. The light above the eyebrowns, on the bridge of the nose and under the eyes make it so light and fresh, I love it.

Good work! The first picture is good but after a days work you just brought it to life! Keep it up :)

I especially like - the eyes. They give us a bit of this human imperfection that can make person even more beautiful. Lovely portrait @mayasky.

Thank you so much for your comment @semipermeabile! 😊 And yes, I agree, it totally is the human imperfections that makes us all the more beautiful 😍

The eyes make a portrait come alive when right, I love the moment when you feel that someone is looking back at you. Showing how the light is see on and around the eye is always difficult but you’ve nailed it for me love it.
Will upvote

Thank you very much for your thoughtful response to my post @wakesteveart! 😘

Much better @mayasky, thanks for this insightful view of your work. Follow you.

Thank you very much @lighteye! It's my pleasure! ;) And thank you for the follow, I appreciate it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67