A step by step photo shoot of how I make my underpaintings.

in #art7 years ago

Hello and good Saturday!

Today I started a new portrait and decided to take some photos of my process as I painted.

IMG_20180210_163017.jpg

Underpainting in the makings.

As this was my first day I started with stage one of my process called The Under Painting!

Let's go!

IMG_20180210_162036.jpg

This is my panel that I am painting on after I put an imprimatura on it. Today I used acrylics to lay down the first layer of value to soften the white of the panel. Usually I use oil paint with turpentine, but that takes a while longer to dry and I prefer to work with a dry layer of imprimatura when I start my under painting.

IMG_20180210_162108.jpg

My strokes of paint are very generic and are just to feel out the biggest proportions.

IMG_20180210_162149.jpg

Still working very general but starting to give myself some reference points.

IMG_20180210_162222.jpg

Here I am developing more of the features an subtleties in the face. With my underpaintings I usually work with very dry paint, meaning I never use a lot of medium to make the paint looser and more runny. So far I have just worked with dry brushes to put on and remove paint.

IMG_20180210_162245.jpg

Here I have introduced a little white to get a feel for the light intensity and values so far in my underpainting. I also think it helps me get more of a sense of form.

IMG_20180210_162351.jpg

At this point I am really starting to digging into the form. If you see from the previous stage you can see the eyes changed a lot. This model has very light blue eyes so I felt lightening them in value even at this early stage really helped me achieve more of a recognition.

IMG_20180210_162454.jpg

Now I am adding the hair. My model has these great dreads which I will try to have a lot of the underpainting show through in the final painting. It can add cool effects and is something worth thinking about in these initial stages.

IMG_20180210_162544.jpg

And there you have it!!

Underpainting done!

This took me a couple of hours and I will leave the painting to dry for a couple of days before I lay down the next layer.

I haven't been painting with my oil paints in forever and it felt good to get back into it!

Let's see what happens with this one, hopefully it will turn out good!

I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend.

😊🙏❤✨🖌

Sort:  

@mayasky wish too the great weekend with full of happiness <3
you put a magic in this portrait <3 anxiously waiting for the final painting
how many days would it take ?

Thank you so much sweet @samriamelissa! 😊🙏 It should take about a week 🖌😊 🌸

Wow amazing art work .
I love to learn art work . I am also a artist but I like to make decoration pieces with recycle material .
Your this step by step work give me a good lesson for making good another art work.
Thank you so much dear.
Its my first comment here. Want to see your next post.
Following , resteem and upvote

Thank you very much for all your support @sairakiyani! I appreciate it! 😊 I will visit your blog! ❤

Dear Artist @mayasky ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon ! Take a look at our latest posts : To Honor Old Masters , Thanks

Thank you! 😊🙏

Beautiful, I love the way you painted the eyes in particular, although she the lady in the image seemed to be worried a bit but that expression of the eyes conveyed a message... Very well done, love it!... followed and resteemed . Looking forward to the final painting...Cheers!

Thank you so much @mers, for your comment and compliments! :D I appreciate it!

Great post @mayasky, can't wait to see the next part :)

Thank you so much @adamfryda-art! :) Next part should be coming soon ;)

Thank for the explication in steps
well done !

My pleasure @missqueen!! 🙏

Thank you for sharing such great post and wonderful portrait.

My pleasure, @trueart! :) Thank you for commenting! :D

I like this a lot - can’t wait to see the next stages

Thank you!! 🙏😄 Next stages coming soon! 😊

I love beautiful art. so realistic. I congratulate the depth and sadness in the eyes very well drawn

Thank you so much! 😄🙏🖌✨

It´s always interesting for an artist to see step-by-step how other artists work. Thank you for sharing!

I agree @sigrid.nepelius! :) My pleasure, thank you for commenting! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48