🔹 MY GLASS DESIGN - Birds of paradise - blowing, grinding, sandcasting - process

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit friends, I would like to share with you another of my glass works. This time extraordinary bowls.

DSC06122.JPG

This is my graduate work from 2016.

TOPIC: In the dance twirl
TIME: 2 months
REALISATION: idea, sketches, technical drawings, written part, products

The purpose of this work was to examine the nonverbal communication of dance among the history of human kind and nature. We can talk about dance in many different meanings. It is a way of relaxation, expression, communication, and much more. My main interest was animal kingdom, especially Birds of paradise from Papua New Guinea. Every species of the family Paradisaeidae has something special. Some of them has uncommon voices, or beautiful unnatural feathers, but we focused on their behavior, mainly their dance.
The birds of paradise were my inspiration to create three glass objects - unusual round bowls. I tried to display a life of this special animals in colors, shapes and decorations.

1. SKETCHES

When I got the idea of Birds of paradise I had to put it into a glass objects. It is not easy to blow a bird, so I decided to choose an egg.

I tried to find the right color combinations according to a birds feathers.

There were some nice combinations. I have chosen ble, green and red and white color.

2. TECHNICAL DRAWINGS

After I finished my sketches and I knew what I am going to create I had to draw the exact objects.

It was the most difficult part.

I also wanted to decorate the objects. The inspiration came from the unusual shaped feathers of this birds.

The drawing was cut into a wallpaper as a pattern for sandcasting.

3. BLOWING GLASS

A temperature around in a kiln is about 1200 °C, so you don´t want to be arond very much. First you have to blow a small bubble and enwrap it into another amount of glass.

The glass is like honey, but it cools off quickly. When you want it to be round, you have to roll it in a wooden mold.

There are colorful sands and powders made of glass to dye.

Because of the size of the objects and my poor skills in glass-blowing this part had to be done by my master.

12 fukanie a zvalanie.jpg

After the glass is blown it has to be put into tempering furnance, so the glass can not crack while cutting.

4. CUTTING AND GRINDING

I made the holes on a diamond disc. It was really slow and hard work, because I had to hold and push the glass against the disc for hours.

I am smiling just because this piece was the last one. The previous two were done. The whole cutting and grinding work took me about 45 hours and I could feel it on my hands the next two weeks :D

5. SANDCASTING

Nice and quite easy part of this work. The only problems were while sticking the template on a glass because of its round shape. Those dark places were sandcasted, so they turn white and rough after washing.

DSC06076.JPG

 

The results

 

DSC06116.JPG

DSC06115.JPG

The price of them together is 113,42€ (material only). The work without mental process took about 60 hours.

 

Thanks for watching!

 

 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Sort:  

Sooo beautiful ! Congrats!

Following you now.

Fascinating art, awesome skill! I love you work

Oh my, you are amazing. Not only have you created brilliant and beautiful artworks, but you've given us an intimate look into your creative process. How inspiring and empowering. Outside of stained-glass, this art form has felt untouchable to me, and your introduction helps me to feel one step closer to the hands-on experience I so desire. This is exactly the kind of content I've hoped to find here on Steemit. Thank you, thank you.

oh, thanks so much for such a pleasant comment :) if you are interested, you can look at my other posts named "my glass design" .. they are very similar to this one .. also some posts from my glass school may be interesting :) have a nice day

Whoa, your decorated glass candle holder is awesome too!! Did you create these works in an art school or are you naturally so versatile with your creativity? Funny story: This weekend I had an entire candle go up in flames because of the wooden candle cup at the bottom. Lucky it was somewhat sealed inside of a small glass container too.

thanks :) these works are from school... as a half-year or end-year work.. Im out of school now, so I dont have machines and tools I need to create glass things like this anymore.. I focus more on painting and drawing now :)

well, its better to use safe materials for candle holders :D

Stunning work - goodness this is a lot of talent and patience.

These are incredible. I was able to do a couple of glass blowing pieces in high school, a simple paperweight and a thing vase, these are so far beyond my pieces. They really are as I said, incredible. BTW...

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

thanks a lot, I also made a few paperweights :) ... I would be happy iif you could share my post..

Thanks for replying so quickly! I will keep you posted on the nomination!

My brother took the glass blowing much further than me, he ended up making some hanging lights for my parents kitchen. Well beyond anything I could have done :)

thank you :) it is fascinating work .. I studied glass design for 3 years.. every year different workshop. so I know something from glass blowing, cutting, painting and grinding.. but as you can see, I fell in love with cutting and grinding :)

wow, it's fascinating work. you have great skills, thank you fro sharing
have a nice day!

thank you so much :)

How stunning! Even your sketches are beautiful- glass blowing is always something I've wanted to try- incredible that you got to try your hand at it, they look awesome <3

Really nice work! Great process explanation. Love it!

Hi @marty-arts :)

Good work! Following :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79