The Vagabonds - interactive Paintings S2 - Semi-Final 2: Mutia vs. Droopy

in #art6 years ago

The Vagabonds is an interactive game here on steemit, based on my original paintings. In the first phase, I presented 8 unique characters, and in it, you determined each character's unique Name, their positive as well as their negative trait and their unique weapon/artifact/superpower.

Now, in this second phase, we're pitching these eight fictional Vagabonds in fictional one-on-one contests/games/battles, ... also chosen by you! The dices randomly choose a new game for every match - the suggestions that were made were great, so thanks for that! The outcome of every fictional contest is also interactive: I present the characters and the contest, and you can comment on how you see this particular contest turn out, and who wins in your scenario. A winner will be chosen and will move on, and as we are already playing the second Semi-Final, today's winner will compete against the winner of the first Semi-Final (will be revealed lower in the post) to become The Grand Vagabond Winner!

So before we move on to second Semi-Final, here's how the first Semi-Final turned out:

It was Eloise the Everlasting but Vain Vampire-Hunter, whose Beauty leaves Guys Mesmerized:

Versus Monica, the Neighbourly but Predictive Duchess with her Magical Sceptre of the Dunes who also has been Blinded by Poisonous Spit Spray to her Eyes:

In a Match to see who can Swallow the Most Swords!

  • Well, I guess Phase II is starting to take its toll, as really the only entry was made by @edward.maesen, followed by @fraenk's ingenious backstory, giving this Semi-Final an unexpected twist. And as I'm writing this, @junsusukhairi's has made his entry.

  • Which I just decided has won it on the spot. It's absolutely tough to read, but consider the fact that it has been written in Indonesian and Googly Translate may still have a thing or two to learn. There's story, backstory, plot and mayhem and for this once, it completely dismisses the Sword-Swallowing Match. Meh. It's Vagabondish, congrats!

  • 1.2 sbd will be divided among you three, @edward.maesen, @fraenk and @junsusukhairi, thank you very much for keeping this game alive! I enjoyed all three entries very much!

So our first finalist is known: Monica wins (in both @edward.maesen's and @junsusukhairi's story), so no need to roll dices.

Now then -you know what's coming- then now!: here are the entrants to the second Semi-Final:

It's Mutia, the Allmighty but Tiresome Heretic with her Sword of Death:

versus Droopy, the Unstoppable but Apologetic Vampire with his Gauntlets of Fractured Eons:

In a match to see who can Stand the Longest on a Narrow Post (suggestion by @edward.maesen, thanks!)

So picture this: Allmighty but Tiresome Heretic Mutia and Unstoppable but Apologetic Vampire Droopy have to remain on a Narrow Post until one falls off. Mutia has a Sword of Death, Droopy has Gauntlets of Fractured Eons. How will this go, how will this end? Who has the better weapon in this match? Who has the advantage, who the disadvantage? Anything is possible!

Make a comment on how this contest would/could be victorious for one and a terrible defeat for the other. Try to take in account all aspects of the characters - positive and negative traits, and their superpowers. It may be short, it may be extensive, but it should be original.

One entry will win - and it will very likely be the awesomest, best written, clever story. The winning Vagabond will be the last Finalist and will battle it out against Monica. Who will it be?

The Final is coming up in roundabout 48 hours, on Wednesday 10pm Europe-time-zone-roundabout. Have fun!

Sort:  
Loading...

The second semi final... Oh wow, we're so close to the big showdown already! Now then, let's see who can stand the longest on a narrow post then now:


Mutia had been gone for a few days now. She had slipped through the cracks of reality, somewhere between cells L65 and R92 as she tried to calculate =CONCATENATE("cuddle";"kitten") it happened.

What happened? I hear you ask, well, we won't really ever know for sure, it was fluffy and surreal, stretched through at least 3 levels of reality and probably made sense, or not. But the infallible science of cooperative contemplation determined with at least some certainty that Mutia received the entry-ticket for the semi-finals today.

Now then, here she is, all googly eyed and fluffed up. She used to be almighty but a bit tiresome, but not today, no, the experience of endless (almost) unconditional cuddles had changed her, she didn't even bring her sword to the match, violence was no longer her way. She smiled as she climbed up upon the narrow post, the match hadn't even begun, but she already stood there, smiling, googly eyed, deeply satisfied and at ease with herself.

Then now, Droopy entered the arena. With him came the faint odour of methane and one could literally feel the atmosphere inside the arena heating up as the audience started breaking out in sweat. Not because of their excitement, no, because of global warming!

Droopy looked around, he felt sorry. What had he done, his unstoppable desire to make up for his saviour's demise had set in motion an unstoppable process that might lead to the end of civilisation as we know it.

He broke down as he approached his post. He cried. He didn't want this anymore. "I am soooo sorry!" he shouted as he fell to his knees next to the foot of his narrow pole. He took off his Gauntlets, enough aeons have been fractured and would be fractured by the consequences still. "SOOORRY!! I am so sorry!..."

Nobody could stop Droopy from apologising. He just kept whining and never even climbed up his post.

MUTIA WINS!!

Brilliant, it's like both Vagabonds have turned into complete characters. Droopy - unstoppabe but apologetic, he's like a maniac who doesn't think and acts first and then apologizes for his stupid actions. The allmighty Mutia slipping through the cracks of reality, refreshed by the powers of a cuddly creature, abhorring the violence that has beenhaunting the fates of the Vagabonds.

Simply superb!

hihihi, the vagabond version of a soap opera ;)

heh... sorta kinda maybe yeah... I didn't initially picture it in that kind of aesthetic... but yeah, that works all too good actually :P

Good evening for Mr @ marty-art, Mr @edward-maesen and mr @fraenk and all. I am back again to follow this fun match between miss @Mutia, Almighty but Tirihawan with Death Sword VS swordsman @Droopy, the Unstoppable but Apologetic Vampire with Gauntlets of fractured Eons. In a match to see who can Stand the Longest at Narrow Post (suggestions by My Friend Mr @ edward.maesen, thanks!).

Here is my story for this very special match.
When miss @Mutia and swordsman @Droopy accidentally met in a cramped post, Miss @Mutia challenged swordsman @Droopy to compete the longest standing in a narrow post.

Swordsman @droopy said politely "I have resigned from the martial world but you are still hunting me even into dreams What have I not done to punish myself, in the name of my past that jumawa, and the spirit of conquest, after alienating so old, and so long so fit that now no man ever know me again ?. I disappeared from the green jungle and river lake moon world at the peak of my war time, after I beat a hundred warriors who deliberately I challenge to pit science on the cliffs of the steep and rocky, on a night of a full moon covered with blood, a hundred black and white warriors, and an unflinched free class, I knocked out one by one like a mighty eagle eating rats.Almost literally in the moonlight I drifted from rock to stone and every time it floats down, even when my feet b before the earth earth every soul of the swordsman hovered. To the swordsman of white I give death without suffering, to blacks of warriors I give pain to the evil that they do, and to their swordsman I let their knowledge ward off my science as best as it can. As a warrior, I gave them an honorable death, death in the fight. The beatings are not a praiseworthy attitude, but I am the one who has invited them to come, all at once, beyond that there is no longer a high-class warrior in the martial world-all that remains are market traders, moneylenders, and worthless villagers. I dare them all because I'm tired of serving the challenge of fighting one by one. And why you miss @Mutia really want to disturb my long sleep !. "

"I do not want to listen to your swordsmanship, which I want us to play now and I want to win and want to be an invincible person in every game" said Miss @mutia.

Without saying much more, Miss @mutia directly attack blindly at opponents swordsman @droopy. They beat, kicked with their stance. It's time Miss @mutia took out her Death Sword to end this fight, but what happened? When Miss @mutia attack with his sword weapon of death to the swordsman @Droopy, and 5 times about the body shortard @ droopy. When the 6th attack, a strange incident occurred, Miss @mutia he bounced away and took blood in his mouth, nose and ears. Apparently unwittingly before the attack Miss @Mutia, swordsman @droopy has stood the longest in the narrow post with a ready standby power Gauntlets from Fracturing Eons. It turns out that the strength of this @droopy warrior weapon becomes twice as great as his weapons power can now reverse the opponent's attacking state like a mirror. That's why when Miss @Mutia attacked but he was hit by the power of his death sword (the master's weapon).
Finally Miss @mutia fell lying on the narrow post with blood and died in place. And stay the @Droopy warrior who stays in the longest narrow post here, and he ends the game with the victory of a fallen man Miss @mutia. All is over, Congratulations to Vagabond swordsman @droopy who won this game to the end. Hopefully he will be the winning Vagabond and will be the last finalist and will fight against the miss @Monica he once defeated when fighting @caern warrior and warrior @pattimura.

Wonderful! I wish I could read it in your original language, I bet some of the writing style of this story is lost in the translation. Still, it's a joy to read and you should be proud of it!

I feel embarrassed to get great praise from you mr @edward-maesen. Because compared to you I am nobody. I wrote it in indigenous Indonesian and translate it into google english translation so that the writing of this story is lost in translation. Thank you for being proud of me, and I respect you.

Despite the language limitations and translation, it's still fun to read :)

but I have a bitter experience in the use of language. When I commented in German on someone's blog, he even rebuked me, saying "this language is not my mother tongue". I am shocked and a little sad, but the language) the words that I use I think very polite, what because the Indonesian language translated in "google translate" to the German language, it means to be very bad ?. I'm a little sad about it.

Sorry you had a bad experience. I myself am Dutch and for fun I've tried translation engines to translate English into Dutch. I can tell you that it didn't come out pretty. German is relatively close to Dutch so I can imagine that the translation got messed up.
I think it's safer to limit yourself to translating into English for the American audience. Americans are used for "their" language to be bastardized ;)

You're becoming quite the writer, @junsusukhairi! Nice plot twist with the Gauntlets there, right at the end! Thanks for your entry, the final's coming soon now!

Thanks for the compliment mr @marty-art, I still have many shortcomings here in comparison with other writers. they are really great writers, I still have much to learn to write better. final will be coming soon, I will definitely be eagerly awaiting him.

Don't compare yourself with English-speaking and -writing people here, you're learning as you go. The more you write, the better you will become. If I'd write something in Dutch (my native language) and translated it to Indonesian,I'd get awkward results as well. But the feeling of your writing, and the effort you put in, ranks you right there with the others. Keep it up! :)

And the final is online here!

jiahahahaha .. really i can not stop laughing while reading your words this mr @marty-art "So our first finalist is known: Monica wins (in both @edward.maesen's and @junsusukhairi's story), so no need to roll dices". really very funny words to me.

/ᐠ.ᆽ.ᐟ\

would you like some catnip?

Wow, great entries from our two major warriors. Good luck to @fraenk and @edward.maesen.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

I'll consider, thanks!

No more entries for this Semi-Final, the final of the Vagabonds is online here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66