Original painting "Ida"-contest: the result and We Have A Winner!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Last week, I presented my original portrait painting "Ida".

As I already had a first name for this historical lady, I decided you, Steemians, could provide her last name. A ringing name, typical of London around 1910-1920.

I received four original entries to the contest!
The entrants were:
@silviabeneforti with "Ida Wellstronger"
@shortcut with "Ida Livingstone"
@funkit with "Ida Jonsdottir"
@fraenk with "Ida Hanbury"

Let me tell you first: choosing was very difficult! I find all four entries original, fitting and having a vibe worthy of a story behind this lady.

But for a contest, I must choose a winner (I considered giving her two family names, as in she's married, but that would complicate things, so.. no) and the winner is:

Ida Livingstone

Congrats and thank you @shortcut! As I was mulling over it during the week, eventually every time I thought of Ida, Livingstone almost automatically followed. The sign of an appropriate name!

This is how @shortcut got to Livingstone, by the way:

At first I though of the german city Idar-Oberstein, where "Oberstein" would translate to Overstone or the "stone above".
I thought a name containing stone would fit her, because she looks like being sprayed on concrete. Also her face expression is a bit stoned. Then I thought of "Bridgestone", because that sounds better and has a deeper meaning. But this was too close to the tire company. So I finally had the idea of a living stone.

As promised, the winner will get the insane amount of the sbd from the contest post, which is 0.554 SBD. I'll transfer when I've finished the post. I still have a wee bit of sbd at the moment, so I'm emptying my wallet and I'll give the three runners-up each 0.023 for participating.

sbd_Ida.png

Thank you all once again, @shortcut, @silviabeneforti, @funkit and @fraenk!

Sort:  

Very nice art.

Congratulations to @shortcut for winning the contest.

I'll look forward to other contest as i will be participating.

Thanks! No idea when the next contest will be though!

Interesting contest haha. Beatiful painting btw I really like it

Thank you very much! :)

congratulations for the winner @marty-art

Thank you, well deserved winner @shortcut!

yes he deserves it

Hauntingly beautiful!

Thank you very much @stillwatersart!

Thank you for choosing my name :-) It was a fun thing to do and hopefully next time there will be some more participants.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it too! It was fun to get some interaction, both for the first and last name - neither of which I would have come up with myself, so very much a win-win :-)

And, whoah, big thanks for the upgoat!

I just wanted to show my support for a great artist :-) Enjoy and keep it up!

Very much appreciated! And there's much more Nevelspoock to come, and as of now, including Ida Livingstone... :)

Yay :-)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.4% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @shortcut
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marty-art to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00