New original painting "Ida" + a contest

in #art7 years ago

I recently finished this portrait, in my weird Nevelspoock-series (a fictional family you can read all about in this post, and you can find the fictional family-tree in this post).

The long story short: the buyer of any particular Nevelspoock-painting may choose the first name of the character depicted (it makes for some funky first names - Franscesco-Bartolomeo comes to mind, or the twin brothers Desmond and Oscar-Morris (get it?)

But this character isn't a true Nevelspoock, but an assistant to one of them. I decided on another social media platform that my fans could suggest her first name, and Ida turned out to be the best-fitting first name.


Ida, oils on canvas, 30x40cm, 2017

So, as Ida isn't a true Nevelspoock, I'm still looking for a family name, and that's where you, Steemians, come in!

Suggest to me a family name for Ida in the comments - I will subjectively choose the best fitting and appropriate family name from your suggestions, and the winner will receive the SBD I made from this post, seven days from now.

Here are some guidelines:

  • The name should be either an existing family name, or a fictitious, but possible family name (e.g. Nevelspoock isn't an existing family name, and I don't think Copperpot from the Goonies existed as well.. but it sounds cool, which brings me to:
  • The name must have a ring to it, or feel inspiring (so, sorry: no Smith's or Jones', alas.)
  • Consider the period: Ida was born roundabout 1880 and is living in London in 1917
  • Upvotes are appreciated (they increase the prize-pool), as well as resteems (ditto) but are not required.
  • Spam comments will receive my best mocking-reply possible, so we can all enjoy them a little bit better
  • Have fun, I'm having too!

If no suitable family name is suggested, I'll donate the SBD somehow, somewhere, here on steemit.

So here's your challenge, Steemit! When I asked on Facebook for a first name, I got 14 replies (from 190 followers). I have 524 followers here, can you all suggest and find me a fitting family name? I'm curious to see 'em!

And yes, I will very much upvote all valid replies, like I always do.

Sort:  

Great painting and also great contest!
I go with Ida Livingstone.
At first I though of the german city Idar-Oberstein, where "Oberstein" would translate to Overstone or the "stone above".

I thought a name containing stone would fit her, because she looks like being sprayed on concrete. Also her face expression is a bit stoned. Then I thought of "Bridgestone", because that sounds better and has a deeper meaning. But this was too close to the tire company. So I finally had the idea of a living stone.

Thanks @shortcut! Great to read your train of thoughts there! Livingstone is definately in for the contest :)
Idar-Oberstein, hmm, that's not too far from Belgium and we love visiting old castles... Thanks for the tip as well!

Your welcome! I haven't been there myself, but the name somehow stuck in my head ;-)

Ah, I now see the Ida-Idar connection, didn't see it first time around, cool!

Ida could be Norwegian. But I suspect she is from Iceland. Jonsdottir. Suiting name.

Thanks @funkit! Norwegian-Icelandic would be a completely different twist, but very possible, Jonsdottir is in for the contest, thanks!

Very nice portrait, with some dark feeling, well done

Ida is a beautiful name and here in Italy there are many old women named Ida (also one of the aunts of my dad named Ida), so I think her family name can sound as Wellstronger :D

Wow, thank you @silviabeneforti! That is indeed a ringing and apropriate candidate for Ida's family name, thank you very much!

My suggestion is: "Ida [Florence] Hanbury"

I'm (as always) taking my inspiration from googling (my favorite hobby on many levels) the terms "London", "1917" and "assistant".

Which brings me to the "100th Anniversary of the Silvertown Explosion"

In 1917, the London School of Tropical Medicine was located in the Albert Dock Seamen’s Hospital in the London Docklands and as a result, the explosion damaged the School. Florence Hanbury, the School’s first library assistant, noted in her diary ‘The Silvertown explosion shattered the windows in the Printing Room, but did not damage the Library’.

Hey, cool! Now that is some googling, interesting find and (hi)story! I'm looking at four entries so far, and I'm going to have a hard time choosing! Thanks!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57