Niflheim revisited: Jötnar 2: Rán

in #art5 years ago

A second painting in the theme of Norse mythology, expanding a bit on my dabbling in the worlds of Niflheim, with its Jötnar - mythological creatures usually described as giants (although not necessarily big, at that. It's quite confusing but interesting. You can read more about it here). Yesterday's painting was Ægir, now meet his wife: Rán.

Materials used: acrylics on panel, the size is approximately 44x100cm (17x39inch) with the top part rounded off - not something I usually do, but I found it interesting as it is a shape that's sometimes used in old religious paintings or panels.

I'm not an expert on the mythos, but I do find the misty setting and stories of its creatures fascinating. If you're interested in reading more about the Jötnar, wikipedia is a good starting point. Thanks for looking and reading!

Sort:  

This painting is very atmospheric. I think all the spikes do that.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you, @c-squared!

Ran does look like a giant! I love this one, @marty-art :) Wife and husband both are really wonderful !!!!

Thanks, yeah, they're a nice couple! :)

this time it's off-center enough to look "right" again :P

I dunno... I actually kinda like it on this one... maybe it's growing on me?!

Hehe, alright, I'm clueless now, but that's okay :D
Thanks!

That is a cracking painting :-) love it!!

I saw that channel vice is going to be screening the next series of Vikings here in Australia soon.

Well, enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85