Niflheim revisited: Jötnar 1: Aegir

in #art6 years ago

It's a misty day here, which means it's perfect weather to present you the painting "Aegir", the first in a long list of Jötnar, the 'giants' of Norse mythology (technically, they're not true giants because they're not necessarily 'big', so they're more like mythical creatures which aren't gods. Confusing? Yeah. Fascinating? Very much! Wikipedia has you covered).

These are paintings on custon-made wooden panels, of which I rounded off the top, giving them somewhat of a religious context. The size is approximately 44x100cm (17x39"). Painted with acrylics.

Meet Aegir, a giant associated with the sea:

Sort:  

That looks pretty badass and demonic! I dig it.

Love your stuff, @marty-art :D Really channeling strange and epic beings through your surrealist paintings * ___ *


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh wow... and I like how he's spelled with "ae" ;)

at 1m tall that's pretty epic!

but I'm not sure about the label on that pice.

Thanks!
Yep, the official spelling is indeed with ae :)

Does the name on the painting distract from image, you think?

yeah... I think it should either be a very fancy plaque... or gone :P

as it is it turns the whole piece into something of a sketch?! I dunno.

Ah, okay, I see what you mean. I kinda like it, and have done this before on other 'portraits', but maybe I should be so casual about it. Thanks, good feedback!

coming back a little while after... it doesn't interfere with my "experience" of the whole piece as much anymore...

I think it's maybe really just the text being so off-center on that "lable" that's messing with my ocd?!

Good to hear it's 'growing' on you :)
But the feedback stays valid, I shouldn't be se casual when/if I'm doing names like these.

That being said, I just noticed the name of the 2nd giant is way off centre on the label as well, so hang on if you'll see it! ;)

shouldn't be so casual about it ^^
that n't makes a big difference!

Great art, thanks for sharing :)

Thank you, my pleasure! :)

I love this Marty, I would enjoy hanging this series on my wall :D I included this one in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much Julia :) also for the curation! I'll check it out :)

I have a second, similar painting, which I'll post tomorrow. If you're still interested, we can see how to get this on your wall, ok? :D

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hello there artist friend,
I am a curator of Artisteem . We support real good artist like you. Please join our discord channel , visit our platform and upload your artwork for reward.
Follow @artisteem for more information.
https://steemit.com/@artisteem
http://www.artisteem.com/
Discord:
https://discord.gg/WPHVKYw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65