Multiverse - Universe I: "Grid", painting 2 "Pericombobulations"

in #art7 years ago

This is another part of my Multiverse-series, and I'm not sure if I wrote and broke it down correctly in my previous post, so here's another try at that:

The Multiverse encompasses any- and everything. All possible, impossible, probable and improbable Universes. Every expected, unexpected, likely and unlikely Universes as well.

Universe I is just a fraction of the Multiverse, and it's the only one I've painted so far. I titled it "Grid" as I was listening alot to Philip Glass' Koyaanisqatsi (if you want to enter a zone, put it on your headphones!)

Within this Universe I there are lots of characters and places, all connected via space or time. This is, like 5 Blokes one element of that Universe: Pericombobulations (yes, I tend to listen to whole Blackadder episodes while painting as well!)

pericombob.jpg

You can find Pericombobulations near the bottom in the middle of the Universe I-painting:

universe_I_grid_.jpg

So, Pericombobulations is connected to the previous 5 Blokes, following the line going up, via the wires of the streetlights, connecting them both. To the left of it is "Walla Walla" (can't remember where I picked that up) and th the right it's connected to two figures " & ", which later turned out to be "Carmen & the Devil".

Hope you enjoyed that - I've worked out some more elements of this Universe I on seperate canvases/panels and I'll be posting them one at a time, so stay tuned!

Oh, and what's up with those pericombobulations, you think? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I remember when an old flatmate introduced me to Koyaanisqatsi quite a few years ago. What a trippy film. Think I'm gonna have to find it and watch it again now you've reminded me about it.

Hehe, I used to watch it every year or so, now I listen alot to the music while painting. Thanks for the comment!

Wow I really like this! Your style reminds me of Tony DiTerlizzi's work on the Planescape setting for D&D, which from me, is very high praise indeed! Interestingly, the multiverse and connections between is kind of the theme of the Planescape campaign setting as well. Okay enough nerd talk.

I am just going to shut up and follow you and wait for more awesome in my feed! Cheers - Carl

Haha, now that's an awesome compliment! I know his work, and while I'm not a "high" fantasy-artist, 2nd ed. AD&D has always been an major influence, glad you picked up on that! I should get more Planescape books, you're right, cheers!

Oh cool, you even knew that was 2nd edition AD&D! I have never actually gotten to play or DM in a Planescape game but I always loved the books and have collected most of them over the years. Kind of a high point in the layout, art and really even concept design for TSR, in my opinion.

The whole Multiverse painting looks really epic. Glad you are spotlighting individual sections here.

Hey thanks! Yeah, I prefer 2nd ed. and the original, from then on the art went way over the top and the rules got a bit messy. I still buy the occasional 2nd ed. book, I only have one from Planescape - we never got around to play it either :)

Scheun, heel scheun 😉
Vind trouwens je familie nevelspoock op je website een fantastisch idee/concept...
Alleen de agenda is blijkbaar niet up-to-date... exposeer je misschien nog ergens in het Antwerpse?

Dankjewel! Het concept Nevelspoock heeft een tijdje goed gedraaid, maar er gaan nu andere dingen mee gebeuren (waar ik nog niet veel over kwijt kan, sorry voor deze teaser ;)

Ja, de agenda is ver achterop, dank je om me daar op te wijzen, ik moet er werk van maken. Een expo in 't Antwerpse zou ik graag doen, maar zit er voorlopig (nog) niet in.

Graag gedaan :-)
Wil me met niets bemoeien hoor maar heb je ooit gehoord van http://pjezunik.com/ ? Ben er zelf niet bij betrokken, heb er alleen al eens wat gekocht en vind het een tof concept. Misschien interessant voor jou als artiest?
Anyway, ik volg je nu dus ik zie wel wat verschijnen. Cheers...

Ik ken het niet, maar ziet er wel ok uit, ik bekijk het zeker eens grondiger - bedankt voor de tip!

Graag gedaan. Succes!




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

I'd be hard-pressed to explain exactly why, but I love this.

Thanks @jonknight! Not necessary to explain the why, glad you love it :D Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39