Lady Midday - back to some fantasy painting

in #art7 years ago

I've recently posted some historical portrait-painting and a painting of clouds, but I want to get back to my third favorite subject - fantasy-based paintings, with this creature of mythical folklore "Lady Midday".

Wikipedia has only a little bit of info about it, so I really don't know much about the legend of Lady Midday, which actually makes it al the more fascinating. To give you a brief idea: "Lady Midday makes herself evident during hot summer days, carrying a scythe, and asking the farmers difficult questions - if they cannot answer, she cuts their heads off or strikes them with illness. Lady Midday is only seen during the hottest part of the day."

Painting, acrylics on panel, 40x60cm, not available.

I envisioned her, roaming the fields, with the people following her, hypnotized, or scared to go against her.

Have you ever heard of Lady Midday? I would like to hear stories!

Sort:  

Ooh this a really nice portofolio!

before I went to google I thought she would kill them by noon and in fact the lady midday is nothing but the heatstroke... absolutely fascinating story

https://www.demonicpedia.com/demons/european-demons/need-know-lady-midday/

Yeah, it's not a well-known legend, but fascinating indeed! Thanks!

She might, what makes you think that? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33