Cryptopaintings: an experimental and interactive game, game over!

in #art6 years ago

Last Friday, I started writing an update on my experimental crypto-painting game, but I didn't manage to finish it - it took so much time, and then boom! it was weekend all of a sudden... I didn't find the time to finish it during the weekend, and I didn't have the heart to finish it yesterday, or today - so I guess it's time to call it game over!

I tried to make something of this weird little experiment - I did find it to be fun and I'm glad some people followed it pretty close, but I felt it wasn't going anywhere - and with the time I put in every post (I think I put in between 1:30 to 2 hours for every post!), it really was too much work to keep it going.

Thanks to everyone who followed up and voted regeularly: @okkiedot, @fraenk, @niko3d, @deemarshall, @mikkolyytinen, @silviabeneforti, @schererf, @hr1, @remlaps1, @shortcut, @edward.maesen, @hazel420: I appreciated your enthousiasm, comments and upvotes very, very much, but this isn't to go on much further. I do hope to find something workable and fun in the near future. As a salute to you, this is the final update for you all:

DRP, 40x60cm

DRP did go through the epic $1000-barrier! And, for the record, settled at $1025.55, but that price actually has become pointless - the painting hasn't been sold at $500, so who would I be kidding I'd sell it over $1000, right?

ILS, 30x40cm

ILS finally settled at $134.50, nearly at half her starting price of $250

NIFLHEIM, 24x30cm

NIFLHEIM settled at $89.57, also down 50% from it's $195 starting value.

AAA, 13x18cm

AAA went as low as $67, but grafecully left at $70.67 for the weekend. For ever, that is.


The trouble with the game was the players' stakes, or their shares in paintings - I never could figure out a fair way to reward the players with a decent stake, and still have a fair price for me, should a painting be claimed by any player. Leader @okkiedot, for example, has @ $0.242 share in a $135-painting - meaning his share was appraoching almost 0.1%. Even multiplying that by 9 or even 12 (as a random triggered event could do in the last game) wouldn't have made it very impressive. So, this wasn't a very playable or lucrative game for anybody.

And, hey, calculating every players percentage was a huge wall to face every time.

So, as a final act - I'm just discarding everybody's stakes/shares, and I'm leaving DRP, ILS, NIFLHEIM and AAA as the cryptopioneering paintings they are and have become thanks to you!

Thanks for playing, and I hope to see you on a different game!

Sort:  

ah man... I'm a bit majorly disappointed now!! But I do understand... it didn't really progress in a sensible manner and it would have become a bit repetitive sooner or later.

But I do still have a 0.17% share in NIFLHEIM, righte?! I know it'll go to the moon eventually! LOL

Anyways, I hope you come up with something new soon... I can't wait... You've gotta make up for letting us down like that... just saying ;)


Now then, then now, so the story concludes. MtARX went down and Marty Karpeles is having a Frappucino?!

It's always the same with these pioneering exchange platforms that start as one thing and then become another... or did I actually jinx it by giving it this nickname?

Hahaha, nice one, there!

Yeah, it went all over the place and nowhere specific. I guess I wanted to make it work somehow, but it didn't, so better to finish it off before some money gets involved ;)

If that 0.17% makes you happy, I'm happy to let you have it! I'll let you know when NIFLHEIM sells for big bucks, ok? :D

$89.57 - $0.154 => $89.416 ... hmmm... if the markets keep acting like they do... I might feel very tempted to do a 100% take-over on that one

Thanks a lot for this entertaining experimental mixture of crypto, art, and trading. It was fun to hunt for triggers and to observe the development of each painting.
It sure takes some time to compile the results and I think nobody is going to be angry or whatever for deciding to end this game. It was fun as long as it took. So, thank you again. I'll be waiting for more interesting posts by you :)

Hey, thanks for that, it was fun, but not to keep it going in the long run :)
So, I'm glad you enjoyed, we'll see what's coming next!

Understandable! I think I even missed the last post didn't I? Frankly, I couldn't quite make out what to do or how to respond :(
Onwards and upwards to better initiatives :)

Thanks man, yeah, onwards and upwards! :D

I think that was a fun experiment :D but definitely a time sink and a half for your self. Just want to give you a big thanks for what was a super entertaining set of posta :D

Thanks, man, I appreciate that very much! :D
Yeah, a time sink and a half, hahaha!

@marty-art I think its cool you were experimenting with making a game on steem. Im sorry it didn't work out but Im curious what you'll come up with in the future. Today I started a discussion on how steem can be a better platform for artists, if you have a chance Id love to hear how it would be better for you to use. https://steemit.com/artnode/@solar/hey-artists-of-all-kinds-i-m-up-voting-for-good-answers-this-is-a-discussion-about-steem-as-an-artist-platform

Thanks, @solar, steemit is a great platform to experiment, some work better than others though :)
I'll follow up on your link, thanks!

Ahahaha, sorry but I'm cracking up here. I'm imagining you spending all that time on a post, hehe. What a waste of good painting time :)

It was a great idea but too time consuming. Let's see what @nevilspook comes up with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53