"Space 2000" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

Anyone remember those cool NASA stickers that you could get in the nineties? That was my thing in those days and and I tried to get them all. Wish I knew what happened to them!
 
Anyway, as this developed, those stickers came to mind... Retro-space!
 
Like a movie poster from the 80s, maybe... Because of course, back then, everyone thought of the year 2000 as the blazing future in which we'd all have flying cars and hover boards. Still waiting for my hoverboard!



Space 2000

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 26" x 19.5"



“Since, in the long run, every planetary civilization will be endangered by impacts from space, every surviving civilization is obliged to become spacefaring--not because of exploratory or romantic zeal, but for the most practical reason imaginable: staying alive... If our long-term survival is at stake, we have a basic responsibility to our species to venture to other worlds.”

-- Carl Sagan


The creation process:

 
I had found a great little set of formulae in JWildFire and was trying to create something else when I accidentally created Space 2000. These were a few stops along the way...:

... while I was trying to create this:

And that one exists actually. Here is the complete image, which I called "Precious Jewel" ... But I wasn't happy with it (nor its name) in the end and I still intend on redoing it:

But back then, as I was fiddling with parameters, a meteor and three bars suddenly appeared... So I tweaked it and created Space 2000:

How many of you are space fans? =) ... I'm sure you've noticed by now that I am a huge space nerd. The next big thing I'm looking forward to right now, besides Elon Musk putting people on Mars, is the launch of the James Webb telescope!




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Desert Shrine" - Gallery: Motifs | "Song of My Heart" - Poems, #015 | "Reality Grows Bored" - Gallery: Fine Art
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images copyright, @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Proud member of:


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80