"Overlord" | A Collaboration Between @mandelsage and @debart

in #art6 years ago

I've teamed up with Daniel (@debart) once again to create something new from an already completed piece of his. Daniel is an artist from South Africa =) I highly recommend checking out his website - danieleugenebotha.co.za
 
I am once again very happy with how this came out. I had no idea how I would interpret his piece at first. Only after playing around a bit in Mandelbulb 3D, with the box formula, did an idea strike to have some sort of "Matrix eye" observing the woeful humans...





What I did:

 
Here is the piece I chose from Daniel's collection, entitled "Vitalik Buterin":

Once I had the idea (after playing around randomly in Mandelbulb 3D), I took his white figure and made this, which I used as an image map in the one of the fractals:

Then, the box with the "eye" was relatively simple to do, using the boxIFS and DiamondIFS formulae. The "minions" behind the screen/eye were made with a completely different set of formulae. I combined them all in layers in photoshop, as you can see here:

I also coloured in a bit of a shadow over the men, and did a bit of recolouring on the swarm behind the eye... And then that was it! ...

Here is the final version of "Overlord":

 

As I said, I am very happy with this. It's exciting as an artist to discover new ways of expression that previously I didn't even consider possible for me. Thanks once again to @debart ... I trust we'll work together on many more pieces.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
I appreciate it more than can be expressed in one line at the end of a post.

~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Cradle" - Gallery: Fine Art | Commission Work - Mandalas Based on Your Personality! | "Caldera" - dIFS Pong with @welshpixie #003
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Creative Commons License.

Sort:  

Wow This is just amazing amazing amazing work :) I think your visualization of a concept is truly inspiring to say the least :)

Thank you! I'm very happy that you like it so much ^^ ... Not sure how much of it was my visualisation and how much was luck ;P ... A good mixture of both, perhaps.

At the end, it turned out to be one of my favourite works yet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39