"Didn't Planet" | Gallery: Fine Art

in #art6 years ago

You see what I did there? Huh? Huh?? ;P
 
Indeed, I did not plan it. Not at all. I remember the creation of this quite clearly... I simply took two formulae, combined them, and tweaked for about half an hour.
 
Voila! Out pops this planet, having just collided with some other body, perhaps a small moon.



Didn't Planet

~~
Gallery: Fine Art
Max. Print Size: 40" x 30"



“I would rather be ashes than dust! I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot.
I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet.
The function of man is to live, not to exist.
I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them.
I shall use my time.”

― Jack London

The Creation Process:

 
Going back and looking for my parameter saved files, I found only two... "CayleyAmazingIFS_01" an "CayleyAmazingIFS_02" ...

This is CayleyAmazingIFS_01:

And CayleyAmaingIFS_02, as you can see below, is just a few minor adjustments away from the final image... So this means I didn't save any in between moments - probably because it was all so quick (Hence me calling it "Didn't Planet").

But I went ahead and loaded up CayleyAmazingIFS_01, and did a bit of zooming/parameter tweaking, just to see if I could mimick the process... And truly, after not very long, I did find a few images that easily look like they could have produced the final result...:

I know I said it took half an hour, but actually, I spent a very long time after that trying to get the colours, volumetric lighting and shadows right.

I love this piece because it really is a great example of how, within the chaos of fractal geometry, there lie many works of art just waiting to be discovered. I am itching to see what it looks like on a living room wall. Any takers? =)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
Why "Mandelsage"? | "Cocoaflake" - Gallery: Motifs | "Ocean" - Poems, 011
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images copyright, @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51